User account inexplicably messed up (Win XP SP3) - Malware problem?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by 06Dolphin_Spirit, Sep 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 06Dolphin_Spirit

06Dolphin_Spirit Registered Member

Hi there everybody.
    Due to the nature of the issue, I struggled a lot to pick a section to post (still not sure if this is the correct one). Also, please, bare with me, this post may read as long and ... dull, but I'm not that tech savvy and I could really use some help. Finally, I’m not a native English speaker and trying my best to make this as comprehensive as possible.

My brother is the sole user of his Laptop, so his user account has Admin rights and is password protected. A couple of weeks back, Windows didn't recognize him and wouldn’t let him log in with his user name. Instead he was able to log in as "User1" (pre-displayed in the username field) and his own (user/ admin) password.
    As this issue struck me as really weird and being the more computer savvy of the two), I decided to take a look.
    Status is as following:
    1. The only two accounts are his (Admin rights) and Guest (disabled).
    2. There is no folder under "Documents and Settings" with his (account/ user) name. Instead there are 2 folders named "User1" and "User1.XX" – XX stands for sth I’m not sure I should post.
    3. Task Manager shows "User1" to be the active user (I logged in as that). But, right clicking on "Start" & "Explore" takes you to Start Menu of "User1.XX".
    4. The Screen Saver is also password protected. When getting out of that, the message reads as following: “This computer is locked. Only the user USER-ST\User1 (**) or an administrator can unlock this computer” – ** stands for my brother’s Username (original account).
    5. In the Registry and the according entries, DefaultUserName has the 1st name of the above as its entry and DefaultDomainName the 2nd one.