Updating TDS database

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by PeterVO, Apr 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PeterVO

    PeterVO Guest

    Hello,

    since a few days, I've not been able to update the Radius database:
    the update window just says "update in progress, connected!, starting transfer" but nothing happens.
    Is there a problem with the update servers?

    Within TDS, I can't get to the special forum anymore for registered users plus I'm redirected to "http://www.dcsresearch.com/" which seems to be some kind of portal.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
    Belgium
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,312
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi PeterVO,

    This link should solve two problems at once: http://www.diamondcs.com.au/forum/showthread.php?s&threadid=1443
    If you stil have your login details for the private forums, that is.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. PeterVO

    PeterVO Guest

    Thank you Pieter for your quick response.

    I've downloaded the latest update.zip but it was the same version that was already installed.
    I see in the update window it tries to download from "216.118.111.212" . That server seems to be down.
    So no change, still can't download.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
    Uni of Leuven
    Belgium
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    In case you forgot or had no DCS private forum entrance yet, this is the URL
    www.diamondcs.com.au/forum/index.php
    For those who have no entrance to the private part yet, but still need the update:
    (unlicensed TDS users should get the update manually from http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/radius.td3 anyway)
    Gavin mentioned there have been small mirror issues which should be solved now, so please try again.
    For me it worked to just let the update search itself through my update.cfg and search a mirror giving me the actual update. It did take several seconds more then normally, true, but eventually got it automatically.

    It is advicable to grab and replace the update.cfg file in your TDS-3 directory at times with the newest mirrors at
    the same downloads location
    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/update.zip <<direct download!>>

    The dcsresearch.com portal has nothing to do with DCS.
    We advice you to delete the cookie that site might have put on your system!

    Hope it helps everybody!


    Edited:
    i see we posted around the same time, had not seen your posting yet.
    You might like to change the order of the mirrors in your file (make sure not to add or delete any spaces or empty lines and most certainly not remove the first line for then it wont work anymore)
    The 216...112 and i guess ..113 had some problems which should be solved now or soon thereafter, the
    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/radius.td3 worked fine for me.
    You can also click them manually or paste them in your browser to use them.
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I was just reading through this thread and offhandedly thought of something. When examining the latest update.cfg file, the morelerbe ftp site is still listed. Is this still a valid link or did morelerbe go away when Becky's shut down. I have an occasional problem updating also and wondered if this was still a valid mirror.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Had trouble myself earlier today updating but this evening it was OK
    19:31:48 [Radius] • Systems Initialised [23594 references - 7636 primaries/6083 traces/9875 variants/other]
    So hopefully all will be well for tomorrow's update :D
     
  7. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    It's still slow here, too. Takes forever to check the first two, then finally picks up on the third one (I think) - but then the d/l speed on that one is slow, too. Pete
     
  8. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Uploaded a new update.cfg, and a zipped version. We have lost some servers, and while I wasn't aware of the Beckys issues, I have noticed this is also a dead mirror. We hope to add more soon ! :)

    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/update.zip - now lists diamondcs.com.au as the top mirror, this is all you need for now :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.