Tor questions

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Londonbeat, Nov 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Londonbeat

Londonbeat Registered Member

I've never used an anonymous proxy before and don't know much about them. I've recently read about a free application on here called 'Tor', am I right in thinking that all you need to do is download this onto your system, run it, and then when you connect to the internet through your browser any sites you visit will see a Tor ip address rather than the one provided by your ISP?

Thanks
    Londonbeat

2. dog

dog Guest

Pretty much right on ... you'll need privoxy too. Then set your browser connections like the screenshot below. Doing so will break the ftp protocal for example, but it's done to prevent any leaks.

Attached Files:

3. Londonbeat

Thanks Dog, what is privoxy, i.e. what does it do that Tor doesn't? I've had a look at the site but there's a lot to take in, is it necessary to use that with Tor or can you run Tor without it?

Londonbeat

4. dog

dog Guest

Yes Privoxy is required because there are DNS leaks when tor is used directly ... it will also filter out bad headers ... referrers etc.

I suggest you download the Vidalia bundle which includes both privoxy and tor + the Vidalia controller GUI. The Win32 installation instructions can be found here if you'd rather just install tor and privoxy - but I'd suggest you go with the bundle - it'd be much simpler.

5. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member