To all Avira users

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ssj100, Jun 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ssj100

    ssj100 Guest

    Hi guys,

    Can anyone who is using Avira AntiVir Personal (or even Premium) confirm that they are also getting these errors in their update logs:

    [UPD] [INFO] Checking whether newer files are available.
    [UPD] [INFO] Select update server 'http://[2a01:138:a001:201::23]/update'.
    [UPD] [INFO] Downloading of 'http://[2a01:138:a001:201::23]/update/idx/master.idx' to 'C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\TEMP\UPDATE\idx\master.idx'.
    [UPDLIB] [ERROR] Download manager: An error occurred inside the WinINet library.

    I've only started noticing this since the last major upgrade (9.0.0.403), and according to the Avira support forums, this is due to a problem with some computers not fully supporting IPv6.

    I am able to update 100% successfully and smoothly, but for some reason, the update logs generate the errors above. I get about 10 of those errors per update log, but everything updates smoothly and quickly (within 1-2 seconds if there is no update, and within 20 seconds if there is a small update).

    Thanks for any replies!
     
  2. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    I only see one within the last 11 update attempts. I update manually 1 to 2 times per day. Avira Premium 9.0.0.441.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Tried Expert Mode - General - Update - Webserver - "don't use proxy" ?
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It has been a reason for these errors in the past. No luck this time as it seems.

    Annoying at most. Most important: it obviously does not affect the updating as such ;)
     
  5. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    No problems here :thumb:

    I got better things to do then look @ logs though :argh: :thumb:
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,158
    I also had no problems except I think it was 2-3 days ago for the first time after an update Avira requested a reboot (never happened before).
     
  7. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    No problem now. Only with the default update schedule,I never succeeded in update. I then deleted it and created my own schedule. Now it updates smoothly. Strange though.
     
  8. Necropsie

    Necropsie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    9.0.0.403? According to mine, i am using.. 9.0.0.442. Getting the same error message and Avira can't update itself. Still couldn't find a solution.. Weird.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,603
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I cannot get Avira to update at all today. Rats! They should take a lesson from MBAM's updater -- it is fast & reliable. On the other hand, Avira's updates (even for Premium) have tended to be slow & dicey for as long as I can remember.

    It would be a shame if a superb antivirus bit the dust because of a crappy updater. :thumbd:
     
  10. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Mine wont update either, last update say's from 10:30am EST.
     
  11. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I just did a manual update @ 2:55pm :thumb:
     
  12. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    Location:
    USA
    Mine is acting piculurely firstly it stops scaning at 21.7% and then the updater problem it never finishes it reads like it just started after over 15 minutes. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,047
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Its the old VDF update issue. Take 2 Tylenol and call in a update in the morning.:cautious:
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,158
    Unusually slow here too, it took 9 minutes to download 3 MBytes.
     
  15. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I never said there wasnt a current issue with their updating process.

    Its something I'm sure they are working on. There's no sense in everyone freaking out,they will resolve it,as thats what software writers do.

    If you feel Avira is "letting you down" find another antivirus.
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,047
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I, like a few others, did. Invest in some servers and you might keep your current customers.:cautious:
     
  17. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Congratz!

    When everything is going wonderful,you never hear a peep. But,when there are issues,it' seems the sky is falling is the general reaction. No piece of software is perfect, period.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,047
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Aviras support forum is filled with this topic today. Last time I checked upstairs, Esets was not.
     
  19. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    interesting. never had any update issues w/ avira. neither w/ free version nor w/ paid version. i wonder if it's because the update server your av uses which is assigned to your location (dedicated server) has some temporary issues?
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,047
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well this one will get popped soon, but personally I have no issues with Esets detection rate. Right now I would say that version 4 is about the best out there. Avira is great dont get me wrong. But we are talking about updating, and no matter who the vendor is, that can be a serious issue. Period.
     
  21. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    i!d love to. but my av's, fw's etc logging functions are disabled in order to decrease the disk activity. so i have no logs to send here. sorry. but as i said, i really never had any problems w/ the update procedure. but maybe it's because the logging is off and the updates are set to take place invisibly. so maybe sometimes there're some issues, but i don't realize because of the previously mentioned reasons.
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,047
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well mate, the reason I dumped Avira was their slow web browsing and high false positive rate.

    But yes I agree, updating is a serious issue. Lol
     
  23. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    same here. aside from the minimum impact possible on system resources & boot-up time, avira is great also because of its simplicity. incredibly and amazingly easy to setup and maintain. very simplistic gui and configuration. you don't have to deal w/ things and settings that you spend hours to understand what a certain setting means and what it does exactly.
    that's the major reason why i prefer to use it. even when installed from the scratch, it takes only a few minutes to have all settings fine tuned and you're ready to go.
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,158
    I reported an unusually slow update, considering it was 3 MBytes, it could be justified. Apart from slowness I've never had any issues with updates which are happening very often and with large downloads.

    Some people change AVs for all sort of reasons, Avira update slowness at times is a by product of their ever increasing popularity (well deserved I should add).
     
  25. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,527
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Ditto.
    AntiVir Premium 9.0.0.442
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.