To all Avira users

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ssj100, Jun 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ssj100

    ssj100 Guest

    Hi guys,

    Can anyone who is using Avira AntiVir Personal (or even Premium) confirm that they are also getting these errors in their update logs:

    [UPD] [INFO] Checking whether newer files are available.
    [UPD] [INFO] Select update server 'http://[2a01:138:a001:201::23]/update'.
    [UPD] [INFO] Downloading of 'http://[2a01:138:a001:201::23]/update/idx/master.idx' to 'C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\TEMP\UPDATE\idx\master.idx'.
    [UPDLIB] [ERROR] Download manager: An error occurred inside the WinINet library.

    I've only started noticing this since the last major upgrade (9.0.0.403), and according to the Avira support forums, this is due to a problem with some computers not fully supporting IPv6.

    I am able to update 100% successfully and smoothly, but for some reason, the update logs generate the errors above. I get about 10 of those errors per update log, but everything updates smoothly and quickly (within 1-2 seconds if there is no update, and within 20 seconds if there is a small update).

    Thanks for any replies!
     
  2. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,087
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    I only see one within the last 11 update attempts. I update manually 1 to 2 times per day. Avira Premium 9.0.0.441.
     
  3. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Tried Expert Mode - General - Update - Webserver - "don't use proxy" ?
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It has been a reason for these errors in the past. No luck this time as it seems.

    Annoying at most. Most important: it obviously does not affect the updating as such ;)
     
  5. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    No problems here :thumb:

    I got better things to do then look @ logs though :argh: :thumb:
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3,864
    I also had no problems except I think it was 2-3 days ago for the first time after an update Avira requested a reboot (never happened before).
     
  7. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    No problem now. Only with the default update schedule,I never succeeded in update. I then deleted it and created my own schedule. Now it updates smoothly. Strange though.
     
  8. Necropsie

    Necropsie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    9.0.0.403? According to mine, i am using.. 9.0.0.442. Getting the same error message and Avira can't update itself. Still couldn't find a solution.. Weird.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I cannot get Avira to update at all today. Rats! They should take a lesson from MBAM's updater -- it is fast & reliable. On the other hand, Avira's updates (even for Premium) have tended to be slow & dicey for as long as I can remember.

    It would be a shame if a superb antivirus bit the dust because of a crappy updater. :thumbd:
     
  10. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Mine wont update either, last update say's from 10:30am EST.
     
  11. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    I just did a manual update @ 2:55pm :thumb:
     
  12. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,719
    Location:
    USA
    Mine is acting piculurely firstly it stops scaning at 21.7% and then the updater problem it never finishes it reads like it just started after over 15 minutes. :(
     

    Attached Files:

  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,939
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Its the old VDF update issue. Take 2 Tylenol and call in a update in the morning.:cautious:
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    3,864
    Unusually slow here too, it took 9 minutes to download 3 MBytes.
     
  15. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    I never said there wasnt a current issue with their updating process.

    Its something I'm sure they are working on. There's no sense in everyone freaking out,they will resolve it,as thats what software writers do.

    If you feel Avira is "letting you down" find another antivirus.
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,939
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I, like a few others, did. Invest in some servers and you might keep your current customers.:cautious:
     
  17. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    Congratz!

    When everything is going wonderful,you never hear a peep. But,when there are issues,it' seems the sky is falling is the general reaction. No piece of software is perfect, period.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.