The Cleaner Update Available - 3306

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by spy1, Jun 4, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Database v3306 06-04-2002
    -------------------------
    Added TRON

    Updated Aristotles
     
  2. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    The Cleaner 3.2 BUILD 3226 - 06/05/2002
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Updates to RAR, ACE and CAB file handling.
    Recompile to fix Netmeeting conflict on WindowsXP.
    Other minor fixes.
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    It looks like I have some problems downloading the Decompression Support File of 153 K.

    Well, it might be their server is a bit overloaded at the moment with everyone downloading all the new files; I'll try later again.
     
  4. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Jan,

    update the Cleaner once again, now you'll get "unRAR Decompression Support File (size 153 K) and the problem will be solved  :D

    Problem was: "I made a mistake in the update data file but it should be fixed now (might get one more download).

    Daniel"

    Good Luck!
     
  5. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Marianna,

    As always: thanks very much!
    Yep, I got them all now.
    We're all human, we all can make a mistake, no problem with that  ;)

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  6. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Hi Jan,

    you're welcome  :D

    I have a question: Did you scan with The Cleaner after the new updateso_O Wow, I got a "laundry list" with errors - never had a problem before, is the first time.

    Well, I've sent my "problems.log" to Daniel and also got a prompt reply:
    "It looks like some other program, maybe an anti-virus opened those files
    and wouldn't let The Cleaner look at them.  They don't look like any kind
    of harmful files though so you can safely ignore it.

    Was just wondering as a friend of mine has the same "problems.log" and she had disabled her anti virus and also her firewall.  o_O o_O
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Marianna,

    I haven't done a full system scan yet; I will do that and let you know tomorrow.
    BTW: usually I do such a scan with AV disabled.
     
  8. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Hi Jan,

    I'm really curious what you'll get  :)

    I did a scan with AVG and ZoneAlarm disabled - same "laundry list" of errors. Also a lot of temp. files after the scan - I had over 12 MB and I had cleaned it before  !  Maybe you also have a look at your temp. folder :)

    Tot morgen  ;)
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    :D Hi, do you speak Dutch (hoi, spreek je Nederlands)?

    OK, I'll let IEClean do a clean and start the scan.

    Tot morgen  :)
     
  10. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    ja, nog steeds  :D.......but I left  NL a long time ago.
     
  11. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    OK, I did the scan.

    Indeed there was a problems.log.
    All the problems mentioned in it, were of the same type:

    -begin quote-

    PROBLEM: I could not scan this file.  Error Code 32: "Het proces heeft geen toegang tot het bestand omdat
    het bestand door een ander proces wordt gebruikt."

    SOLUTION:
    A common reason for this error is that Windows has locked the file for exclusive access.  A swap file is a common example.  Also, an antivirus program might be denying access to the file.  In that case, you can temporarily disable the anti-virus to clean the trojan.

    -end quote-

    As far as I know, I did not get that in previous scans by The Cleaner.

    And (I did a clean/wash with IEClean and WindowWasher before I did the scan) I got 113 directories in windows/temp. All were created by The Cleaner. I have to say that I never had a look there after previous scans by The Cleaner, so I cannot tell whether that happened before. But I know that I always have seen, during a scan with The Cleaner, that it created temp-files; my guess is that the reason for that is the scanning of zipped files etc.
     
  12. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Jan,

    is the same I have - sent my problems.log to Daniel - his reply:

    "It looks like some other program, maybe an anti-virus opened those files
    and wouldn't let The Cleaner look at them.  They don't look like any kind
    of harmful files though so you can safely ignore it."

    Now the temp.files: I never had it before - so I wrote again an e-mail.

    His reply: "The temp files were probably created by an earlier version of The Cleaner.
    Are you finding that they are not being removed now?  They are created
    when an archive is opened to be scanned."

    Well, I've just scanned again with an "empty" temp. folder -, which had 7.29 MB after scanning, made a screen print and also a screen print of the temp.folder properties and send it to Daniel. Will have to wait what his response it.

    So "something" is "weird"  o_O Will let you know  :)
     
  13. Tillman

    Tillman Guest

    o_O  In addition to all of the above, .exe file for build 3228 downloaded manually at 430k vs 515k.    :(
     
  14. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    I have moved this thread from the forum part "Update Alerts" to this forum part "Other Anti-Trojan programs" cause this seemed to me a better place to continu the discussion of the issues with respect to the problems.log and the temp.files.
     
  15. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    The Cleaner Update v3229
    ------------------------
    Fixed a bug where the last file extracted from a CAB file was locked.
    Fixed a related bug with temp file cleanup.
    Made compatible with XP style skinning.

    With this update all problems are gone !
     
  16. MrT

    MrT Guest

    Automatic download  for build v.3229 from The Cleaner console won't complete (about10 attempts between yesterday and today).    When I select  v.3229 at  Moosoft .com/thecleaner/updates.php.  I get build v.3213 downloaded.  Strange...  
     
  17. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Mr. T

    why don't you download the entire program again and put it on top of the old one - has helped others!

    You can get it here: http://www.moosoft.com/thecleaner/download.php

    Good Luck!
     
  18. Mr T

    Mr T Guest

    Thanks Marianna,

    No luck...installed,uninstalled, cleaned out temp files, cursed, prayed, and repeated it all!    Build 3226 is locked into my system.   All attempts to download .exe for build 3229 results in 490kb vs 555kb and no update to build 3226.  Sending problem to Daniel.  
     
  19. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Don't feel bad, Mr T - After going through all that and everything supposedly being 'good to go', running TC yesterday crashed my computer big-time.

    (Exactly which phase of the moon are we in again? Total eclipse?) Pete
     
  20. polo

    polo Guest

    Got all the updates OK except Moolive was unable to update itself so still using the last version of Moolive. Kinda hard to know if The Cleaner DOES do its job properly or not... Since I don't think I have any trojans nothing comes up!

    Noticed that it doesn't alert on EICAR.COM like AV programs do; even "Trojan Remover" picked that up as a test virus file.

    Dunno why scan for hidden files and inside compressed executables isn't the default setting. Ppl may well forget to turn that on.
     
  21. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Marianna,

    Just did a full system scan with it: you're right: problems solved here too  :)

    Jan.
     
  22. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Polo,

    A while back I had that problem too. Try download Moolive from their site !

    Cheers, Jan.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.