TDS and Resources

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by octogen, Feb 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    Would you recommend TDS to be run resident to someone who has a P2, 266 Mhz and 64 Mb RAM, or would BOClean be a better fit?  BTW, this person only uses the computer for Internet surfing, e-mail and the occasional word processing and spread sheet.  No fancy games or memory intense software.  Thanks in advance.
     
  2. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Everyone has a 'different feeling' about what is fast or what is slow. Download a trial version of TDS-3 and try it yourself. :)

    wizard
     
  3. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    Very good point and a good idea.  Thanks, wizard.
     
  4. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    I run TDS-3 full loaded on my PII - 266 Mhz system with no issues.  128 MB ram.
     
  5. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    Thanks, Zhen-Xjell.  I'll download a trial version tonight.  I'll keep everyone posted to see how it behaves with only 64 Mb.
     
  6. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Good luck.
     
  7. MickeyTheMan

    MickeyTheMan Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    1,016
    A lot also depends on what else you got running on your box !
     
  8. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Check my home page under Security, you'll see what I have running on this PII.  -- LOTS
     
  9. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    Thanks everyone.  Haven't had the chance to install the trial version.  One quick question:  Is the trial version fully functional?  If not, what can't you do in the trial version that you can with the licensed version?  Thanks in advance.
     
  10. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    You cannot install execution protection or update the database automatically.
     
  11. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    There are also scripting restrictions, everything that is limited is detailed under Registration in the help file
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.