Sysyem Scan??

Discussion in 'NOD32 Early v2 Beta' started by hayc59, Feb 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    just did a scan and came up with all this stuff in results??
    all of them say at the end---
    UPX-no unpakero_O
    and its TrojanHunter 3.0
    PopCap Games
    Jv16 PowerTools
    WaterMill 3D screensaver
    what is going on?? never seen this before??
    i tried to up a screenie of it but says its to big??
    please tell me whats going on??
     
  2. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    I am now getting the same report on several files since yesterday's update. These files have existed on my system for some time and through MANY scans and that message never appeared before. I would also like to know what's going on. Is NOD32 just now reporting that those files have NEVER been checked?

    Phil
     
  3. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I hadn't run a full scan in a few days, but just did so after seeing this thread. I also have similar listings. Very strange.
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I had the same problem after yesterday's update also. I thought at first that I had accidently erased/deleted an unpacker :eek: ........
    So I ended up doing a reinstall of the beta on top of my old install.
    This fixed my problem and I do not get those messages doing a full system scan anymore........
    But now :rolleyes: , I see I am not the only one to have the problem.......

    Hope this helps :D .

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    i have to say that i am getting a little tired
    of un-installing and re-installing everytime there
    is a little gleach, everytime i get a little update!!
    is there a fix or another update to fix this little problem so'i dont have to un-install and re-install??

    man i am even stating to sound redundent,redundent,redundent.......... :D
     
  6. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Doing a dirty install of the beta, that is installing NOD over the current installation, removed the current reference files. I was never able to update to the current, so had to remove the program. I'm going to go install it back and see what happens.
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    anyone from Nod out there for any suggestions??
    i really dont want to un-install again.
    thanks for any help... :D
     
  8. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi hayc59,

    I sent you a private message - we'd need a screenshot of that, if possible.

    rgds, :)

    jan
     
  9. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Jan,

    If you need it, I can provide the lines from my log on this subject.
     
  10. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    I didn't get a "private message" but here's a screen shot for you. Any suggestions on a fix?

    Phil
     

    Attached Files:

    • UPX.jpg
      UPX.jpg
      File size:
      50.8 KB
      Views:
      538
  11. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Marti,

    Did your re-install correct the problem or does it continue?

    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  12. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    i just sent Jan an e-mail with a screenshot of mine.
    i have about twenty of them UPX- no unpackers
    so lets see what comes of this....
    thanks Jan for your responce :D ;)
     
  13. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Reinstalling the beta didn't help one bit. If I uncheck the NON scanner option for "runtime packers" the scan, of course, does not flag those files. It's something from the reference file update.
     
  14. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    well i guess i wont do a re-install........ o_O o_O
     
  15. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Although he didn't ask for it, I sent him one also. Please post here if you hear anything back.

    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  16. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Thanks for the info, Marti. I guess I'll just cool my jets and not bother with trying another install. Hopefully Jan will come up with a fix. :)

    Phil
     
  17. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    A little bit busy here - I'll come back :)

    Thanks.

    jan
     
  18. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    :DPatiently waiting!!! twirling thumbs, in anticipationo_O ;)
     
  19. Phil

    Phil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    248
    Humm -- I wonder if that's anything like "I shall return"? That took something like 3 years didn't it? :D :D

    Phil
     
  20. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi hayc59,
    Thanks for the feedback - sorry for that - just this beta doesn't contain the UPX unpacker support. The new Beta will have it.

    Thanks. :D

    jan
     
  21. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    New beta ?? When - I know, when ist ready, but wheno_O

    Ruben
     
  22. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi Ruben,
    pls. see Reply#147 here.

    Cheers,

    jan
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.