SpywareBlaster problem w/ Yahoo email; BonziBuddy

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by dcdc, Nov 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcdc

dcdc Registered Member

I recently bought my first computer and just added SpywareBlaster and bought the annual update subscription.

When I tried to use my yahoo email account to compose a message, i soon got a screen that said my login session was terminated, as if I had been timed out. They suggested that if this happens, you should turn off any software that disables cookies, which their email system requires. I disabled SpywareBlaster, and sure enough, the email worked as usual.

Does anyone know how to add this email system to a 'safe list', or to get around this problem some way? It's a real hassle to turn protection off and then back on every time (if you remember), and the system documentation is not very good from what I could see.

Please keep in mind that I am a real newbie here; I am not unintetlligent, but I am woefully uninformed. I use the machine mostly for web surfing and some email. My previous computer experience dates to the MS-DOS days, and it was very limited.

Also, I ran one of those free sweeps of my system from the Pest Patrol site, and it supposedly found BonziBuddy spyware installed. Neither SpywareBlaster nor Spybot picked it up on scans, and I don't know where to look to find the file. In the MS-DOS days, we used to type something like 'c:dir' and look for the file name. This computer has over 50k files on it; I don't know where to begin.

Thanks to anyone who can offer some assistance. Please keep in mind there is no such thing as 'just', as 'just do so-and-so'; to that my reaction at this point in time unfortunately will probably be 'huh?'.

Dana

2. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

Hey Dana,