Spyware software - which one do you trust?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Simon6776, Oct 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon6776

Simon6776 Registered Member

I have been using Kaspersky Internet Security for several months now, and also have Spyware Blaster installed as a back up, to prevent spyware being installed. Yesterday, I was asked to test XoftSpy, and was horrified to find it throw up no less then 110 instances of spyware in my registry. Of course, to remove these requires payment of a fee, so I thought I would see what some other spyware programs brought up. I tried Ad Aware, Spybot, AVG (Ewido) and also did a scan with Kaspersky, some of which picked out the odd cookie, but nothing on the scale of XoftSpy. I am now in a dilemma - do I believe what XoftSpy is telling me, and purchase it to remove the items, or is this a marketing ploy to make you buy the product?

There are loads of spyware / malware scanners on the market, and they all seem to find different things that others don't. Surely, spyware is spyware? If there is a genuine tracking cookie or a keylogger on a machine, surely, all the spyware scanners should find it? How can we trust these applications to keep us safe, when they all seem to produce conflicting scan results? Is there one anti-spyware program which is actually accurate, and reports real genuine threats, 100% of the time, rather than worrying users with false positives, or trying to scare people into purchasing the product?

I would happily purchase a product, if I thought it would offer me genuine full spyware protection, but to buy something, then find another product finds different things, doesn't instil confidence in the anti-spyware market as a whole. It's not surprising that people find ways round paying for several different products, if no individual anti-spyware application can be trusted.

2. Baldrick

Baldrick Registered Member