SpyBot S&D Beta 0.95b8 released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Paul Wilders, Apr 8, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    new features:
    - showing currently checked bot in statusbar
    - added zip comment to recovery zip files
    - context menus to select/deselect all for exclude lists
    - languages loaded from files to avoid 250+ registry values per installed language
    - context menu for bug report attachments to remove or add files
    - spanish language file!

    bugfixes:
    - multiple bug reports in one program run fixed
    - better sorting of results list
    - usage tracks now colored
    - button for sending bug report mail no longer greyed if returning to window with text
    - another temp directory added for search
    - complete registry & file info in recovery list
    - backup of replaced files now in recovery list, not on desktop
    - forum link now points to main forum view
    - small check speed improvement (spybots only: 5%-10%)
    - another big check speed improvement (spybots only: 25%-30%)
    (both improvements together: 22 secs for the whole spybot & tracks category (47 secs before))
    - dialer fixing now possible
    - local country dialer detection (only if Win version > 9x)
    - backup and recovery of dword registry values possible again
    - massive increase in speed of reading recovery list
    -improved the BDE detection to the newest BDE version of Kazaa 1.6.

    regards,

    paul
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    d.a.m.n that guy has been busy my lord does it come with a ani air to air craft missle=)
     
  3. Checkout;

    Checkout; Guest

    Paul, could you add a link, please?  Thank you!
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    I'd help you out with that, Checkout, but I can't get to the netintegration site for some reason, to get it. It might be down for maintenance. Pete
     
  5. Marsman

    Marsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Checkout,

    SpyBot - S&D 0.95B8
    http://patrick.kolla.de/software/files/spybotsd.preview.zip

    Cheers,
    Mars Man  ;)
     
  6. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Mars Man, thank you very much.  :)
     
  7. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Strange, I downloaded it and it would not run.  The previous version is on one of my backup disks (I cleaned out the computer today).  It seems that the program does not install itself into program files, but runs from the downloaded location.

    marti
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello all,

    I DL'ed the zip from the above link and extracted the files to my spybot folder.  I am still getting version 0.94 showing in the program itself....   Is this happenning to anyone else?  Just wondering if they did not update the version # in this preview beta version or if something went wrong in my DL and extraction.

    Thanks,
    Kent
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Sorry folks......Seemed I jumped the gun a bit......

    When I extracted the files to my spybot folder, I ass-u-me-d that it would overwrite the pre-existing files.......  Well, I was wrong.  A new folder was created within my spybot folder so when I thought I was trying the new version, I was still looking at the old one.

    I went back and deleted all and extracted again, and now all is well.  I have the new version running and love it!!!

    Sorry for the misinfomation!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  10. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I installed this release about thirty minutes ago (after uninstalling the previous one) and ran it.  Fast, slick, no bots detected.

    However, there's a checked problem: SchedLgU.txt won't clean up, and there are over twenty "extension links" in the registry that it won't/can't fix.  Not knowing what these items are, I don't know whether they're a problem or not.

    (And a quick aside to Pepi:  there's no such language as American!)
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,401
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Checkout,

    I got the same thing when I ran the program.  Those entries that I cannot check or fix makes me worry (extension links) ....

    It would be nice to know what they pertained to but that is beyond my knowledge.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  12. Eagle1

    Eagle1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM - Nevis, West Indies
    English is the default language. I believe he is pointing out that it is the american version of english being used as other English speaking countries have other variations of english. I'm quite certain someone has pointed this out to him.  Likely more than once. :D

    The extensions are purposely greyed out while beta testing continues. There is nothing to be concerned about.  ;)

    The log cannot be deleted while in use.

    You can follow the beta developments at the forum where this and the log issues are being worked on. http://www.net-integration.net/cgi-bin/forums/ikonboard.cgi
     
  13. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Thanks for the info Eagle1.  Glad you landed.  :)
     
  14. PepiMK

    PepiMK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    43
    Thanks Eagle1! I've put the Sheduler file into my FAQ, as this is a repeated question.

    Now a few short words about 'american' :) , as I'm already here:

    The english language is already integrated into the user interface and doesn't need an external language file. But I need an external language file that I can copy and give to my translators, and that needs to be english. I simply named it 'american' to avoid name conflicts with 'english', and I didn't intend to put it into any released version, but I guess it found it's way into one or another beta version ;)
     
  15. Eagle1

    Eagle1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM - Nevis, West Indies
    I would have never guess that. :rolleyes:
    I was sure you got harrassed by some of those other english speaking countries.  :D  I know when I supported the language files with the "other" application I received some pretty interesting comments about our use of english here in the US.  But of course I reck'n one can get harrassed on english usage depending on what part of the USA you'n too.  ;)  :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.