Spam Don't just delete 'reply'

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by TAG97, Sep 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TAG97

TAG97 Registered Member

I found this in the New York Times OP-ED section and found it quite interesting. I started to reply to my spam e-mail today. What do you think: good idea or waste of time?

" Fighting the Menace of Unwanted E-Mail
    By OREN ETZIONI"

SEATTLE
    "A few days ago I created a new e-mail account, and within 24 hours I had received over 25 unsolicited commercial e-mail messages, otherwise known as spam. Even though I'm a professor of computer science, I, like so many others, have failed to protect myself from this daily nuisance. So I welcome the efforts by consumer groups that this month filed a petition with the Federal Trade Commission to enact a federal rule that would require senders to identify themselves more clearly and give recipients an effective way to opt out of such mailings.

But legal efforts like this will not be enough. More than 20 states have enacted similar laws, but many of them have been challenged as unconstitutional restrictions of free speech or commerce. And the spam continues to flow.

Spam is a global phenomenon, and much of it is generated outside the United States. It requires a global response. Why not fight spam with spam?

Though spammers hope to lure us with their dubious propositions ("URGENT AND CONFIDENTIAL BUSINESS PROPOSAL"), they rely on those of us who don't want to participate to delete their messages quietly and go about our daily business. What would happen if recipients instead replied en masse to each message?