Sophos Anti-Virus and EM Library

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bsilva, May 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bsilva

bsilva Registered Member

Hi,

Just curious if anyone has any experience with Sophos' Anti-Virus and their new Enterprise Manager? I am currently testing it for my servers. Opinions are welcomed.

Thanks.

2. techguy3

techguy3 Registered Member

I have some experience with installing this, although it has mostly been with the SBE and the SBE Suite editions.

I hate to say it but I haven't had a first-time successful install yet.
    So far, it's probably been installed at 5-6 clients of which some were using a previous version but most were a completely fresh install.

The best place I installed it was a small network where it went in fairly flawlessly but still took til the second install.

There seems to be intermittent issues with it updating. It needs ports opening in the windows firewall of the workstations (8192 to install, then 8193 and 8194 to update) that I can't find listed in any of the manuals (was advised this by their support department), and it has generally been the cause of a few headaches over the last month or so.

I tried to install it on the network at my office onto just the engineer pc's. Of 4 pc's and a server (sbs 2003, and 4 windows xp sp2 machines), it installed on the server and 2 workstations flawlessly, the other 2 - one was reported as an unsupported operating system and the other stated some kind of registry problem.

When I attempted a central installation on a network of 40-45 machines, it would only automatically install it on 4 of them. The 4 were a mixture of windows xp and windows 98 pc's, some with xp firewall on, some without. There seems to be no common ground amongst them. One of the ones it WOULD install on is a particular make/model/setup of pc that I know for a fact that there is at least another 5-10 machines of on the same site.