Some things I'm always asking myself

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by tisungho, Aug 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tisungho

tisungho Registered Member

Hi guys,

At first I'd like to say that I have very little knowledge about computer security.
    Some days ago, I discussed with my friends about computer security. One guy asked that "How can I protect myself from spywares and viruses?". One guy's opinion was that he doesn't use any antivirus or anti-spyware program (if he does, he'll disable them and scan the files when necessary) because he knows what he's doing. For example, he avoids entering to bad websites or downloading any bad files.
    His opinion sounded good to me. However IMO, I really need the antivirus and anti-spyware programs, plus a firewall, and leave them enabled to protect myself from unknown or hidden attacks. But I didn't know how to explain how necessary they are in details because if you use your pc safely, you might not need them.

I need your opinion about these issues. Do we need or not need security programs like antivirus, spyware, and firewall in the case of a safe web-surfing user?

Thank you!

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

If you decide to not use AV/AS then make sure to have a HIPS or sandbox in place of them. Also make sure to use a alternative browser like Firefox (and get the NoScript extension) or Opera.

I would keep a firewall though. If you dont have a router (with firewall) then get a software firewall.

3. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Don't forget Image Backup and Immediate System Recovery, both restore your system, including removal of infections.
    They are my main weapons against infections, especially Immediate System Recovery, which also keeps my system clean and working properly.
    There is alot of choice in softwares.

4. the Tester

the Tester Registered Member

It depends on your connection(dialup or DSL)and your surfing habits.