Simple LAN Setup

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by ched, Jun 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ched

ched Registered Member

Newbie here.

XP Home SP1
    LnS 2.05 EnhancedRulesSet.rls and LnSSvc (English version) (2 Computers)
    Linksys BEFSR41 (2 Computers)

I tried to follow the faq: "How to configure LnS for a LAN". The instructions seem to be for an earlier/different version of LnS (not 2.05 En). I just can't seem to get it to work. File sharing and print sharing work fine when LnS not loaded. I have the ethernet address for each computer. There is nothing in the LnS log file.

Please Help. TIA

2. jgama

jgama Registered Member

Please go to options and uncheck the "automatic selection" if you have more than one network adapters listed. Then select the network adapter that was not previously checked.
    Did this solved your problem?

Peace,
    JG

3. ched

ched Registered Member

Thanks jgama but I already had it set that way. I have two listed: Intel network card and WAN miniport. I have the network card checked on both CPU's.

The only thing I have found that helps is to uncheck the box for Internet Filtering Enabled on both CPU's, have both CPU's access each other, then re-enable Internet Filtering. This works for a period of time, then both become inaccessable again.

It's just a guess, but there is some "handshake" signal not passing through and I suspect it may have something to do with NetBios. Also, I'm still not sure I have the ETH rule set up correctly.

4. gkweb

gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

5. ched

ched Registered Member

Thanks gkweb. Tried it and no change.

Have found that if in "Internet Filtering" on the enhanced rules, I remove the red sign from UDP : Stop NetBIOS, I have good comms between the CPU's.

Is there a rule I could use that would only allow NetBIOS between my two CPU's on the LAN?

6. ched

ched Registered Member