sick of it, sick and tired ... rant

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by LuckMan212, May 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LuckMan212

LuckMan212 Registered Member

meh :doubt:... I am gettin kind of bored reading posts all over the place and meeting people in real life with computers and operating systems that are 7+ years old are complaining that they are running slow or having problems. You can't expect software developers to be able to add features and evolve their programs while still maintaining 100% compatibility with an OS (win 95/98/me) that has been abandoned even by Microsoft themselves.

Windows 98 didn't even work right back THEN. How can you expect it to work right now, 7 years later and after the development community has moved on LONG LONG AGO to more modern operating systems (2000/XP/2003). Even XP is starting to get long in the tooth as Longhorn looms on the horizon.

I fix computers for a living and lately I have seen so many cases of people wasting time asking me to get their old Compaq presario from 1997 working with the latest software, etc and it is kind of funny behavior. If my 94 year old grandmother walked into her doctor's office and complained that she's having trouble competing in the Triathalon what do you think he would say to her? I'm just ranting... but I am really tired of it, they should just make all computers self destruct after 4 years ..... it would solve so many problems

If one more stingy bastard asks me why his circa-1997 HP Pavillion with 64mb RAM and a 2gb hard drive running Win98 is crashing when he logs into AOL 9.0 and tries to surf I am gonna kill kill kill

HELLO PEOPLE -- sometimes you have to spend a couple of bucks and get a new computer. Yes, it's true. Go ahead and flame me if you want but that's what I think.

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

There is a lot of truth in your rant :D ;)

3. mikel108

mikel108 Registered Member