services.exe .. problem with outpost 2009 pro

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by computing, Aug 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. computing

computing Registered Member

Aug 15, 2008
    I have a little problem with outpost firewall....
    i hope someone here would be kind enough to shed some light on my issue as i am by no means an expert myself :)

I noticed when i launched a program called darkspy "anti rookit" that outpost as expected showed me a prompt to allow this new programe to run "as i had just downloaded it" i allowed darkspy to run ... however to my surprise darkspy just opened i received no warning like i was expecting to for a "driver" to load

i did a little bit of poking around and found out the reason for this is that darkspy uses Services.exe to launch its driver services is a windows trusted component .. some applications seem to launch their driver themselves by their own exe file ... so applications like that would issue a prompt for driver loading.. but programs or MALWARE that uses the services.exe method to launch drivers would be auto trusted on my system and possibly other peoples systems too

A solution to this would be to use the "allow once rule" services.exe each time it wants to load a driver of another application .. a simple fix .. however an annoying one, who wants to see popups for the same apps all the time

as i have now noticed a fair few of the programs i use .. load their driver using services.exe i now have to use the allow once rule on every occasion i launch any of these apps, as if i was to globally allow services.exe .. any malware would be free to load a driver unnoticed by outpost

i guess my questions are .. as i said i am no expert ..