Seeking Elec Engineer or some with circuit knowledge

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Sully, Aug 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sully

Sully Registered Member

Is anyone in here an EE? Or just have extensive circuit experiences or a lot of theory under thier belt? I know it isn't security related, but I have some questions that takes forever on other forums to find answers for.

Sul.

2. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member

I am not a EE, but I am a formally trained electronics technician with a couple electronics degrees and over 40 years experience maintaining electronic communications equipment.

And perhaps more importantly, I Bing Google is my friend.

That, of course, does not guarantee I know the answers, but I might be able to point you in the right direction. So, what are the questions?

3. Sully

Sully Registered Member

Thank you. I won't bother the security forum with completely non-security diatribe. Incoming PM.

Sul.

4. Bill_Bright

Sorry, but I don't "work" problems via PM. The whole concept of "forums" is to have an "open" discussion, where every one has an opportunity to participate, share and learn.

But I will say this - you are indeed asking questions dealing with electronic design/engineering issues - and not really computer issues. I understand your questions, but I am out of practice (read - getting too old and slow) discussing discrete circuit and component-level specifics anymore - especially since discrete component level repair of circuit boards (including motherboards) is rarely cost effective these days. Plus that level of discussion is not really suited for here.

When I had similar questions in the past (ancient past), I was fortunate enough to be able to get my hands on a device that used such circuitry, and stick meter and 'scope probes into it to see what was happening - often with my trainer looking over my shoulder, quizzing me on things I was seeing and answering my questions.