Sandboxie- The Right Way?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by merisi, May 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. merisi

merisi Registered Member

I've been using Sandboxie for a couple of years and think it's a great program but I often read on the forum that it is a secure program when configured the right way. Could someone please tell me what the right way is to configure Sandboxie? I currently have it on default settings with it set to auto delete on closing and drop rights. I also have indivdual sandboxes for different applications. What else do I need to do?

Edit: I also wanted to add that I'm using Windows 7 64 bit and the paid version of Sandboxie. My security set up is Avast, Privatefirewall, Ad Muncher and EMET.

Last edited: May 4, 2013
  2. guest

guest Guest

Limiting start/run and internet access only to certain programs (whitelisting) would boost the security. Also, only access to bookmarks/history database (for Firefox) or bookmarks only (for Chrome) would help a lot too. And if you're using the paid version, forced run your security critical programs sandboxed. :)

3. merisi

merisi Registered Member

I'm not sure what you mean by critical security programs. Could you clarify this for me as I'm not sure if you're saying that my AV should be sandboxed.

4. bo elam

bo elam Registered Member