sandboxie question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by stephenjg_2001, Jan 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stephenjg_2001

stephenjg_2001 Registered Member

ok so i have another post but its old and no one notices it so i thought id repost. Im new at sandboxie and im pretty sure i know how to use it, i know that no files can escape the sandbox but does that also include toolbars, video codecs etc? For example, you go to a website with tv shows and other video files for free, before you can watch any movies you get a box in the window saying "codec needed, download?" now obviously its probably going to download spyware etc but after i close the page will i still be ok?

2. Sully

Sully Registered Member

Sandboxie does exactly what you tell it to. If you have made exclusions then files used in the sandbox can/will be placed in the real locations. If you have not made any exclusions, then you might be asked if you would like to recover sandboxed files to the real locations, but it will not happen without your approval. Its all in the options you use.

Sul.

3. bo elam

bo elam Registered Member

If you keep your browser settings within Sandboxie on default or only change
    to allow bookmarks to be saved, then the codec will not remain when you
    delete the sandbox.

Bo

4. Doodler

Doodler Registered Member

@stephenjg,

What OS do you use? If it's XP, then Sandboxie is pretty much bullet proof and you should be safe downloading and running any app/file in a sandbox. If your OS is Windows 7 (64 bit), then Sandboxie's level of protection, while high, may not be quite as impenetrable. More about that here: http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?NotesAbout64BitEdition

5. stephenjg_2001

Im using Windows Vista 64 bit, with Chrome. I wish i could type the address here im wondering about but i know i cant.

6. Prole

Prole Registered Member