Running a DSL modem, want to connect a firewall/router

Discussion in 'hardware' started by new2security, Sep 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. new2security

new2security Registered Member

Hi guys,

As topic reveals, I'm running a DSL modem without any built-in router/fw and have considered buying the router/firewall Netgear FV338.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to networking hardware, so please bear with me if you find my questions totally noobish. ;)

- Does NETGEAR FVS338 have a built-in dsl-modem?
    - If no dsl modem is built-in, how do I know if the router is compatible with my DSL modem? What I want to know is if the router can be plugged in behind my dsl modem.
    I've read up some on the Netgear hardware and it says it has a WAN RJ-45 port... is this where I'm supposed to connect the router to the modem?

Here are two pics showing my dsl-modem. I can't for my life figure out how to connect this thing to the Netgear (when and if I buy one soon)...
    Note the WAN port with the line originating from my phone line.
    The four LAN cables are servicing two PC:s and IP-TV.

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. YeOldeStonecat

YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    What make/model is that? Which ISP do you use?
    I bet it is a combo modem/router...what makes you want to get that model Netgear?

3. new2security

Sorry, forgot to add that information. It's a XAVI X8222, a crippled modem+router where the router part has been disabled. My ISP is Swedish.
    I opted for the Netgear hardware because it was in my price range and had received many positive reviews.

4. YeOldeStonecat

So your 2x PCs get 2x public IP addresses? Can you confirm that by running an IPCONFIG /ALL on both of your computer?

5. new2security

Yes, I can confirm I have two different ip addresses on both computers (dhcp).

6. YeOldeStonecat