Run SpyBot in Administrator??

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by baconbits, Dec 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. baconbits

baconbits Registered Member

I've been using SpyBot S&D for a couple of years (and have donated to the cause). It's a GREAT program. However, I notice that I can run SpyBot under my user name (in WinXP) and have no problems to be fixed. But if I immediately log on to my son's user name, there WILL be problems to be fixed. My user name does have administrator access, but my son's does not. Isn't there a way I can run SpyBot just once to search my entire pc?

2. nadirah

nadirah Registered Member

Spybot needs administrator privileges on all accounts. Why does your son's account do not have admin privileges?
    If you want to search the entire computer, let me tell you that spybot will only scan accounts that have admin privileges, it will ignore accounts that do not have admin privileges.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2004
  3. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

The entire system is being scanned for malware....regardless if the user has Admin privileges or not. However....cookies and temporary internet files are only scanned for the current signed on user.

4. baconbits

My son does not have Administrator priviledges because I don't want him to be able to make changes to the pc setup. But if giving his user name priviledges makes my spyware (spybot, spyblaster, mru, a2, mcafee, etc) run more thorough, then I will change my son's user setup. Thank you VERY much for your quick response!

5. Ronin

Ronin Guest

No!!!!! Dont give your son admin previlages! Set up one for yourself and use it whenever you are scanning.

If you let your son have admin previlages pretty soon your computer will be so messed up you are going to need more than spybot to save you!

6. baconbits