Rollback Rx question

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ashanta, Dec 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashanta

Ashanta Registered Member

Hi,

I'm a Rollback Rx newbie user and I've noticed that all datas (photos, images, videos and programs) that I created after the Rollback installation, are appearing in my D drive under Vista, that's normal indeed. B

But, these datas doens't appear if I boot from a Vista Repair Cd ( with the cmd exe) or Hirens Boot CD (with its Explorer program). My D drive is completely empty ! Where are located my datas ? Are they encrypted ?

What's happening if for x reasons, the Rollbacks Console at boot doesn't work, how to recover these datas if Hirens Boot CD or any others Live CD don't detect them ?

Thanks in advance !

2. Jo Ann

Jo Ann Registered Member

Hi Ashanta,

I'm assuming that your D-drive is a logical partition of your physical C-drive which RB is protecting. If that's correct and since you added those photos and other files after installing RB you would not see them when booting up with a Live OS because the Live OS only sees the RB baseline and not your current RB snapshot (nor any other snapshots).

You should make regular use of a disk-imaging program to backup your HDD, just in case RB (or the disk) malfunctions!

JA

3. Ashanta

Hi Jo Ann,

I've two primary partitions C: and D: corresponding to my HDD, only 1 HDD.

Is it possible to have a few RB Baselines or it always one baseline ?

Does it exist a rollback program that make the same but without encrypting datas as Rollback do ?

Which program to back up ?

4. Jo Ann

Jo Ann Registered Member