Roboscan ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sg09, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,825
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    Hey guys. I've been intrigued by this since it's the only (quality) free AV using BitDefender's engine. I am thinking of recommending it along with the three A's, and Panda Cloud AV, but I have a couple questions:

    1. Earlier in this thread, it sounds like detection is pretty poor, despite it using BitDefender's engine. Has detection improved?

    2. Can the firewall be disabled in case someone wants to use a 3rd-party firewall with it?

    Other than that it meets the requirements of being low on bugs and light.

    Thanks
     
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,451
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine


    In my tests, it has always performed very well. I would rank it up there with any of the other free AVs. The FW is disabled by default.
     
  3. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    374
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    The latest RAP chart shows that ESTSoft scores better than Avast, AVG and most other av's.

    http://www.virusbtn.com/vb100/RAP/RAP-quadrant-Oct11-Apr12-large.jpg
     
  4. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,825
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    well you can change it to whatever you want and it will display there
     
  6. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    +1 :thumb:

    The GUI is very well designed, even the nag screen after each update gives you some useful info regarding number of updated files, and it only behaves like a normal notification above the systray, compared to other freebies' in-your-face nags.
     
  7. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,825
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I put this on my brother's computer to test it. It seems light, the ad is not annoying, and it uses Bitdefender's engine plus their own. The settings are fairly easy to modify. My only complaint is that I dont like the GUI being green :D
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    Light green (at the right saturation) can help prevent tired eyes. ;)
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,451
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I like the GUIs color. For a while red was being over-useds by AVs, now black is being over-used. The green stands out a bit.
     
  10. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I like the green robot logo compared to others logo :D
     
  11. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    101
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    i intend to try roboscan but until now i was looking for a link to manually download the database especially for 1st update after install which according to many is quite big & found one today.it is from their korean site as this feature is still not available on their english site.
    http://alyac.altools.co.kr/Public/Download/DbUpdate.aspx
    speed is quite good(~660KBps or ~6mbps on a single connection using remote upload) & i think it is quite handy for those having fast &/or limited plans & intend to install roboscan on a pc with slow/no net access or install frequently/multiple machines.
     
  12. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
  13. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    101
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    it says "coming soon" & judging by previous experiences of some other users users here it takes a long time to update/fix anything related to their international site(english) & product(again english).
     
  14. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I see the manual database download is still "coming soon"

    but...
    what was taking so long to fix on their english ver product?
    I didn't find any bug myself, maybe you can point it out?

    If it was found, I'll try to report to their korean sites
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
  15. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I doubt they speak any english.
     
  16. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    101
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    i meant issues related to manual/auto update where many users couldn't update completely or the update info shown was older than the bitdefender's own definitions version posted on their site but this has been fixed now.still it is safe to assume that manual downloading of databases feature will take time to become available on their english site.
     
  17. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    By using my korean friend :D


    Ok, the issues has been resolved :thumb:
     
  18. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    101
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    just tried running the downloaded database file & it gave an error.can someone else check it as i think this definition update file is incompatible with english v2.5 of roboscan.
    http://alyac.altools.co.kr/Public/Download/DbUpdate.aspx
     
  19. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    Maybe because that file wasn't intended for the English version.

    Back when the issue with auto-updating was still around I used to download manual DB from the old global ALYac site:

    http://global.alyac.com/support/manual_db.aspx

    but it proved not to be compatible with Roboscan although technically they are the same thing.
     
  20. yesnoo

    yesnoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,385
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    Previously when manual database was available from the global site then too when I had tried it used to mention Roboscan Internet Security need to be installed when infact RIS was already installed. I downloaded the whole manual database twice but the same error.

    I tried this software few times but everytimes at the time of install or few days later autoupdate had always prob updating to the latest signatures.

    Finally I gave up on this product.
     
  21. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    Yeah, yeah, yeah, Naren. :D

    lol Of course it won't work, the file is in Hangul and is meant for the Korean version.
     
  22. yesnoo

    yesnoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,385
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I had downloaded from the following site when manual database was available & its english language

    http://www.roboscan.com/support/manual_db.aspx
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3,809
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    I've been using RoboScan for a few days (I only heard of it a few days ago), and my exprience so far has been very positive.

    I rarely use any antivirus software, as they all cause a performance hit, and even without using any protection it is very rare for me to get infected. From time to time, if an antivirus product looks interesting I'll install it to test it, but I usually uninstall it after a few days.

    However, in this case I think I'm going to stick with RoboScan - fast scan times, low memory usage and using Bitdefender's scan engine are all plus points in my opinion. On top of that, so far it has not caused any major impact on my system.

    For the time being I'm going to keep using RoboScan, along with the new Kingsoft Antivirus (which works quite happily alongside other security software). Perhaps, my computers will go from being infected once or twice a year to never.
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,451
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine


    That's the combo I have on my main computer.
     
  25. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Re: ESTsoft ALYac Antivirus Basic Free: Uses BitDefender and ESTsoft’s Tera Engine

    You guys are running both RIS & KSAV in real time?

    Or is 1 on demand?

    To echo, RIS is shaping up to be my favorite AV/IS of all time. I just stopped using KIS for the 1st time in years & years.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.