Restoring system drive backup on the same drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by farazfastian, Aug 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. farazfastian

farazfastian Registered Member

hi all,

I'm new to Acronis and i'v done little research on the forum regarding the issue but didnt foud something exact, sorry for the basic questions as i'v very less time to do it, heres my situation:

I'v winxp sp2 with vista transformation pack installed and i'v acronis backup of my c: drive (system drive), i'v got 2 more partitions for the personal data. My laptop is hp pavilion dv5000t and i installed winxp on it after a long pain, as it has SATA drive and windows installation doesnt support it, so i want verification of acronis restore process before doing it, heres wat i'v in my mind

I'll do a Partition/drive Restore from the windows running on same harddrive which i want to restore, i'v few questions in it
    - is it okee if i do restore from the same windows on which i want to restore the old one
    - my other partitions will be intact or it'll wipe them out

plz reply, thanks

regards
    faraz

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Assuming the Vista transformation pack doesn't do anything like changing the file structure (TI doesn't support Vista yet):

You can restore an image of your C partition to your existing C partition by starting the process in Windows. TI cannot restore a system partition from within Windows so it will boot into the Linux recovery environment when it actually does the restore of C. The only thing is that your image file cannot be located on C or any partition being restored.

Your other partitions will be left alone as long as the image you are restoring is for C only.

Suggest you check the box telling TI to validate the archive before restoring so it will not wipe your partition if it cannot validate the archive. This can be set in the restore wizard under options.

3. farazfastian