restores to wrong id?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pago Cruiser, Oct 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pago Cruiser

Pago Cruiser Registered Member

NOOB here, at least with this software. Using TI 11 (formerly Norton Ghost user). Went to restore today, and we had a power outage right in the middle. Everything buggered up.

No problem; so I take my bootable Cd, boot to TI rescue, insert my image DVD, try again. Windows still cannot boot. Restore track 0. Restore sector by sector. Nothing, WXP still cannot boot.

After 2 hours of this, went to reinstall WXP, and there are TWO complete id's! It appears TI 11 restored my drive C to to id1, but id0 was still there. No options in TI11 to restore to different id's. Cannot even delete the id's using WXP disc . Short of booting to W98 and reformatting everything, HTH do I resolve this?

Why can't this sh*t be simple?

2. shieber

shieber Registered Member

If you boot form the CD the drive letters might not be the same as in windows. You ahve to go by the volume labels. Are yo sure you restored to the correct drive?

3. jonyjoe81

jonyjoe81 Registered Member

Does your hard drive have 2 partitions? If you do, try editing the boot.ini file in the windows xp, so that it points to the correct partition. That can probably fix it.

Everyone here in the forums will probably recommend you reformat and start over again. I always like to fix the problem afterwards, whether editing the boot.ini/changing partition ID drive letters/reslot the partitions it's all fixable.

One utility I recommend to everyone who restores xp is to have a "boot corrector", I have a 100 percent success rate when I use a "boot corrector" to fix unbootable restored drives. Most of the fixes are quick less than 5 minutes.