Question about popup blockers

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by PepsiMax, Jul 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PepsiMax

PepsiMax Registered Member

I don't use a popup blocker. Are they fully customisable, where I begin by allowing all popups, and then gradually add those I wish to be blocked, as and when I find them ? Thank you :)

I'm getting sick of those popups that try and get me to download a dialler, and when I decline, another popup appears to say I must click yes before I can proceed. These are the ones I'd like rid of.

Which blockers would people here recommend ?

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

There are some popup blockers [all free] at the link This one seems to work pretty well (EMS Free Surfer mk II) it is available at the link.

3. PepsiMax

bigc73542 - Thank you :) Because I've never used one before though, can you tell me if they all (or some of them) can be customised as I described in my first post ? Again thanks :)

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

This one can be customized (EMS Free Surfer mk II) being free you can try it and see if you like it. you might want to try this one also. (Pop This!) also at the link. they are both fairly simple to configure and use.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2004
  5. PepsiMax

Thank you again. You have been very helpful :)

6. Justhelping

Justhelping Guest

There are in general 2 main type of popup blockers

1) Intelligent popup blockers, try to block only certain type of popups that are deemed unwanted. Generally popups that are not user initated are considered bad and are blocked.

The free ones are pretty good these days at this, a few of the payware might be a touch better against say modeless dialog boxes, but I don't think they are worth paying for. Sure there are lots of popup test sites that claim to show that X product is better than Y, but these usually rare techniques not normally seen in websites.