Push Install Windows 7

Discussion in 'ESET Server & Remote Administrator' started by unclep4ul, Jan 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unclep4ul

    unclep4ul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Hi, I am trying to do a push install of NOD 32 version 4 to a windows 7 machine.

    I keep getting the following error : Could not install ESET Installer on target computer (SC error code 11, GLE error code 5).

    I have turned off Window Firewall and am using the Domain Administrator account to perform the install.

    Code:
    Computer:	C-eb
    Domain:	D01
    Get Info Diagnostics, server: C-PLD, user: administrator
    	Setting IPC$ Connection	Result Code: 0	(The operation completed successfully.)
    	Remote Registry Connecting (OS Info)	Result Code: 53	(The network path was not found.)
    	Remote Registry Connecting (ESET Security Product Info)	Result Code: 53	(The network path was not found.)
    Remote Install Diagnostics, server: S-sql1, user: administrator
    	Setting ADMIN$ Connection	Result Code: 0	(The operation completed successfully.)
    	Copying ESET Installer	Result Code: 0	(The operation completed successfully.)
    	Setting IPC$ Connection	Result Code: 0	(The operation completed successfully.)
    	Registering ESET Installer as a Service	Result Code: 5	(Access is denied.)
    Can anybody advise me what I can do to resolve this?

    Many thanks in advance.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,330
    Does configuring the ERAS service to run in the domain admin account instead of the local system account (default) and restarting the service make a difference?
     
  3. unclep4ul

    unclep4ul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    That worked perfectly, thank you very much Marcos!
     
  4. JoTho

    JoTho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I get the same error but we do not have a domain and thus no domain admin account to use. Is there a need to have matching accounts on ERAS server and workstation? Thanks.
     
  5. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Try disabling UAC
     
  6. JoTho

    JoTho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Ok, thanks. I found that UAC alone did not allow the Upgrade option to work. I had to also set the Network to 'Work' from 'Public' AND Turn Firewall off on Private networks. After those changes 2 Win7 workstations upgraded. To not have to turn off the FW isn't it port 2222 or 2223 that needs to be opened? Thanks.
     
  7. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    From the ERA manual:

    http://download.eset.com/manuals/eset_era_4_userguide_enu.pdf - Page 10

    :)
     
  8. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
  9. hinomara

    hinomara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    Hi.
    Happy to see that you have solved your problem... but unfortunately I'm just now having the exact same problem, when pushing install to Windows 7 machines, i try to push using a domain administrator.
    Can you tell me what you did?

    Tks
     
  10. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Rather than pushing as Domain Admin, which account is your ERAS service running under? Can you try with it running under the domain admin account?


    Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.