Proxy support in PrevX

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by dlimanov, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    As many others, we are using proxies internally, blocking direct HTTP/S connections outbound. Clients' browsers are configured to "automatically detect settings" and get proxy information via WPAD configuration file. PrevX can't connect to the cloud upon initial installation unless proxy is manually hardcoded; however the client that's internal and connected to the proxy, can become external by connecting to a WAP 5 minutes later -- this is exactly why we don't hardcode proxies in the browsers by hand and use proxy autoconfiguration. With PrevX, user has to manually check/uncheck proxy information every time he/she changes location.
    Is there a way to make PrevX to be able auto detect proxy via WPAD? If not, can you tell me port and IP/subnet of the cloud to which clients connect to, so I can make a temporary exception on the fwall to allow this traffic outbound? Wireshark sees an HTTP connection to 62.189.194.200 every time I open a new file, but I don't know how presistent that conection is across multiple clients.
    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    We will have better support for this implemented in our enterprise product with "roaming mode" but for now you may want to also add remote connections to:

    62.189.194.211
    62.189.194.211
    62.189.194.207

    all on port 80.
     
  3. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204

    Joe,
    What about 194.200? Or maybe this is what you meant with the first entry above? :)
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Yes, include 194.200 in the list as well :)
     
  5. dlimanov

    dlimanov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    204
    Joe,
    In enterprise model, do clients check in with the local server first instead of the cloud, or do they go straight to the cloud anyway?
    Thanks!
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Clients first check with the local server, then the local server checks with the cloud if it doesn't already know the answer.
     
  7. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Just a note that I had the same issue with Prevx getting through my ISA server. The issue is that Prevx does not authenticate through the logon username.

    My system is now running fine allowing outwards http 62.189.194.207, 211 & 212. (Watch out for the typos in the earlier posts!) I did not seem to need 200?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.