Proxomitron and SpyBlocker

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Checkout, Apr 4, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Well now, I've got IE 6 -> Proxomitron (port 8080) -> JAP (port 4001) -> The World.  I presume port 80 is now idle, which means that SB is sitting there doing nothing.  All the counters stay zero.

    Is there any way I can change SB's port to 8080 to see what Proxo sees?

    (Yes, I know there's an SB forum, but I just don't like it there.)

    MTIA
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Checkout,

    I am trying out JAP also but am having problems.  I have the same setup as you....>IE6....>Proxomitron....>JAP.  How did you configure it all to make it work?  I am doing something wrong somewhere.....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  3. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Kent,

    The biggest problem I have with Proxo is - I keep forgetting to save the config file!  This is especially true when I modify the External Proxy settings, 'cos Proxo doesn't prompt me!

    So, in IE, I set Use Proxy.  In HTTP, I use localhost 8080.  Then, in Proxo, I clear the proxy list, add 127.0.0.1 port 4001, check Use Remote Proxy, and save the config file!

    In JAP I leave the defaults - port 4001.

    That's it.  HTH
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Checkout,

    Thanks for the help.  I got it working, but I have another problem.  I wonder if this is happening to you.  I cannot access this forum using JAP.  When I try I get the following error message:

    An Error Has Occured!

    Sorry, you are banned from using this forum!

    Interesting.......

    I am going to try DiamondCS private forum and DSLReports to see if it happens there too.

    Any advice?

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  5. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Strange.  Someone else had this problem recently - Z777, I think.  He found it worked with one browser but not another, if I recall correctly.

    Trying it now...

    Wow, it happens to me, too!
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Checkout,

    I was able to use JAP at DiamondCS and DSLReports with no problem.  I tried it on three other forums also without a glitch.  I also tried it on three of my secure financial institution sites with no problem either.  It seems that here at Wilder's is the only place I have a problem.

    Talking of speed, I decided to do some testing. I have cable and usually average about 2100 down and 360 up.  I ran speed tests to 13 locations here in the US and here are my results:
    Down ranging from 420 to 700 with an average of 620.
    Up ranging from 135 to 510 with an average of 320.
    What was amazing was that several times on my uploads I got speeds in excess of my norms.  All in all I thought the speed of JAP was impressive.

    I have one other thought.  The Trojan Hunter Forum uses Yabb also just like Wilders.  I will run over there real quick and see if I have the same problem as here.  It might be specific to the Yabb software.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  7. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    My thoughts head that way too.  Looking forward to hearing your results.  In the meantime, I've posted in the "General" topic hoping that Paul and the mods may investigate.  Bon chance!
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,402
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Well, I was wrong.  I was able to access other Yabb based forums with no problem.  The problem only seems to occur here.

    Maybe one of the moderators can give some input to this.  If I use JAP a lot, I will have to disable it and bypass the proxy in Proxamitron each time I visit here and the reverse when I leave.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  9. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. SpyBlocker

    SpyBlocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Posts:
    11
    Hi,

     you can't change the spyblocker port, you can hit logfil in the prox and it will display what it sees.

    Thanks!


    P.S. Why don't you like our forum?





     
  11. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    I find it cold, unfriendly, and unresponsive.  That, of course, is just my opinion.  Here, at Wilders, friends recognise me and put up with my faults.

    I'm willing to change my opinions; I'm not unreasonable.  I'm very pleased to see you here, SB.

    On the plus side, I think SpyBlocker is slick, cool, and really neat.  I'm not sure how well (and how appropriately) it fits in with proxies such as The proxomitron and JAP.  My gut feeling is that SB is highly efficient code and is well suited to be part of the mix, if only I could figure where.
     
  12. SpyBlocker

    SpyBlocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Posts:
    11
    Hi Checkout,

     Thank you for letting me know your thoughts, I appoligize for leaving you feeling that way.  Our forum is on the newer side so we're always looking for ways to improve things.

     The next couple of weeks should put some friendly fun into the mix.  We're working on some new security software and have more plans for SpyBlocker too :)
     
    Thanks for the kind words :)


     
  13. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    De nada.  In fact, I'm highly impressed with SB:  It gives the kind of visual results that are just perfect - it tells me exactly what I need to know, that SB is a sentry who's always vigilant and on duty.  That's probably the most important reason why I want SB to sit between my chain of proxies, exactly where I want it to be, because it can't always know for itself where it will fit best in my configuration.

    Think of SB as the guardsman and me as its sergeant major!

    Orders is orders, Sah!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.