Progran Requesting Server Rights in ZA

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kanga, Nov 5, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kanga

kanga Guest

:) Hi guys am running XP Pro a program which I think belongs to windows is asking server rights in ZA free here is its name Generic host process for win32 services should I give this program server right YES or NO. also dose any one know what this program dose in windows.
    Thank for your time and help.

2. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Hi kanga,

Welcome to the board. I'm a XP Pro user myself and I have denied GHP all access to the internet. The only inconveniences this produced is that I have to manually enable it if I want to go to the Windows Update page and that my computer does not automatically check if there are any updates.
    Please read this as well.
    And here is the article describing Svchost for Windows XP: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q314056

Hope this helps,

Pieter

3. MickeyTheMan

MickeyTheMan Security Expert

Rule of thumb : In case of doubt, Deny access to any program that wants acess as server.
    That can always be changed later if needed.
    Better be safe than sorry.

4. root

root Registered Member

I think most people don't understand what that is all about. In ZA, server rights means to allow incomming traffic. Other that your FTP client, very few programs need to allow incomming traffic.
    To the best of my knowledge, in XP, SVCHost.exe needs to be allowed out to the ISPs DNS servers on port 53. In Win2k it is Services.exe that needs out to the DNS servers.
    Different firewalls have different terminology for the Windows services, but basically thats all thats needed.
    I do not know what generic host processor is, or I could help a bit more. If Pieter is saying it is SVCHost.exe, I'm surprised he can block it totally. The Outpost Firewall users have to allow it out for DNS.