Privatefirewall updated

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by QBgreen, Aug 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey, im using vista 64 bit. do you think i mightve installed a rogue/fake version of private firewall?!?!

    everything is identical to yours and the firewall works fine except for the fact that it doesnt have advanced reports.

    could you maybe test out private firewall on a vista 64 bit sp2 vmware and see if it has advanced reports? i wouuld really appreciate it
     
  2. Gauchoo

    Gauchoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi, where did you download it from ?

    I don't know why the advanced reports is not showing in Vista x64.

    On the product list it does say Vista x64 is supported so you would expect to have the advanced report option.

    Did you install PF as the admin, again whether that would make any difference I don't know.

    I don't have a Vista x64 installation disc, I got rid of it when I upgraded to Windows 7x64.

    I guess your best bet is to contact them for help, as you can see from the previous page their support sounds good :

    http://www.privacyware.com/support_ticket.html
     
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i downloaded it from www.privacyware.com, their official site. and yes i ran the set up file as admin.

    do you think i mightve installed a rogue version?
     
  4. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Yes, please un-plug internets. :thumb:
     
  5. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    what??
     
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    If that is a joke, it is a poor one. Newbies visit here to learn. Lead, follow, or get out of the way.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    @wutsup - I very much doubt that you downloaded a rogue. In any event, I suggest you email support @ privacyware.net & request a hash for Privacy Firewall (PFW). Then check their hash against the hash for your own copy of PFW.
     
  7. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    True, I still find it hard to believe that someone would think the legitimate site for a product is a rogue software producer for the very same product. I also did not expect that he would take me so literally since its way too obvious to be a joke. I keep forgetting there are people out there still in the PC dark ages :argh:
     
  8. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    lol i know it was a joke but i just wanted to see what you would say when i said what?? lolll

    im an american born citizen lol

    i was just wondering why my version of private firewall was missing a feature that others dont have missing
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Have you ever heard of phishing? Spoofing? Copy-cat websites? Try reading HERE. Or do a Google on phishing and spoofing -- lots of interesting articles. One of the latest gimmicks (at the moment) is fast flux. :argh:
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    trying out privatefirewall, liking it so far (except for the extremely ugly looking tray icon lol)
     
  11. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    do you have advanced reports under view?
     
  12. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,926
    I have the advance reports, maybe you should uninstall PF delete your installer and redownload a new installer and reinstall. I have had bad FW installers before like I once installed PCTFW and all the driver files were missing from the setup.
     
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The following is the *substance* of a recent message from Greg Salvato (Privacyware support) . . .

    They are working on some core enhancements to PFW so as to increase security, improve usability, and optimize performance. These improvements mainly involve enhancements to PFW's SPI* capabilities.

    In addition, they are continuing to chip away at several minor defects in PFW -- nothing "high severity", but annoying nonetheless.

    Greg estimated that they are a few weeks away from issuing the next update.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    *SPI = Stateful Packet Inspection.An SPI-capable FW monitors the state of active connections to determine which network packets to allow through the FW. That is, an SPI-capable FW monitors all incoming and outgoing packets. Outgoing packets that request specific types of incoming packets are tracked and only those incoming packets constituting a proper response are allowed through the firewall.

    Other than "proper response packets", the default rule is "block all incoming".
     
  14. datarishik

    datarishik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Thanks for that bellgamin. One more thing that could be added to PFW is password protection, although its not necessary.
     
  15. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I am debating on using privatefirewall or pc tools plus. What is the easiest to setup and does the best job? Where can I find a tutorial that explains the suggested settings?
     
  16. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    A- Private Firewall (PFW) does the better job by far. It includes an excellent Help file but I will cover a few basics just to give you the "flavor" of what is involved in configuring PFW.

    A1- PFW is Firewall (FW) PLUS Host-based Intrusion Protection System (full classical HIPS including but not limited to Leak Protection) PLUS Anomaly Detection.

    A2- PCTools FW is a FW + Leak Protection.

    A3- Also, PFW's Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) is more thorough/reliable than is the case for PCTools FW's SPI.

    B- As to settings, for adequate security with minimal intrusions on your use of the computer, do this...

    B1- Right click system tray icon (the cop) > click Main Menu > on the resultant screen (Graphic User Interface - GUI) click the gears picture at left top of GUI, as shown
    ScrHunt01 24-Sep-10.gif

    B2- > click Standard Control: Alert & Auto Respond then click OK at the bottom of that same window.
    ScrHunt02 24-Sep-10.gif

    B3- On main GUI, Main Menu, set Internet Security to High and Network Security to Low (Default settings, in other words)
    ScrHunt03 24-Sep-10.gif

    B4- On main GUI, Process Monitor, set it to Medium.
    ScrHunt04 24-Sep-10.gif

    C- The above covers the main settings for "easy everyday usage with adequate protection." However, if you are a high-risk web surfer (visiting porn sites, cracks, flaming forums, PnP, etc) then you need tighter settings. Please post back (or send me a PM) if that is the case.

    Good surfing to you! :thumb:
     
  17. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366


    DO I need to make any changes in the "Mode' column? Should some of the items be set to "Set all rules to allow Traffic" or should they be "Set all rules to filter traffic"?
     
  18. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    By all means -- set ALL rules to filter traffic.
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have glommed onto a semi-official rumor that PFW will issue an update within the next couple of weeks -- "with some cool features" so they say.

    I can hardly wait! :cool:
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  20. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,926
    Just curious since I have just started using PF, do I manually uninstall then reinstall the new version? Do I install overtop the current version?
     
  21. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,978
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    It's ok to just install "on top" of previous build, at least it was when I last used
    it. Maybe when they release a substantially updated version, as bellgamin said
    above, then perhaps a clean install would be best imo.
     
  22. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I always install on top of the old version. Never had a problem yet.

    If folks are going to interpret my use of "substantial" to mean "big" then I shall drop the use of that word -- I have no idea as to how big the change will be.
     
  23. nessy90

    nessy90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    A quick question with PFW can you add IP blocklists like in OP and OA.
    Thanks nessy
     
  24. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,926
    Yes you can they have a way to block IP addresses I have not however used it.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,447
    Location:
    Hawaii
    On the main GUI, select Main Menu and there it is (follow my little red arrow)

    ScrHunt04 29-Sep-10.gif
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.