Prevx 3.0

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Eystein, May 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Hi just recently purchased prevx 3.0 and have a few question:

    1. The online protection (Prevx safeonline) doesnt seem to work. Neither my internet explorer or firefox have a online protection tab, and i set it to scan when i entered my bank website but nothing happened.

    2. is the database for prevx for viruses from 2009? Or is it updated still. I really hope the latter is the case as I purchased a 2 year lisence.
     
  2. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,207
    Location:
    UK
    Hi and welcome to Wilders. :)

    I suggest you read the following thread then decide whether Webroot SecureAnywhere might suit your needs better: WSA ROCKS A 5.5 / 4.0 / 5.0 AV-TEST

    Regards
     
  3. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks for the information. I hope I can convert. Ordered today and to my shock I realised the program doesnt work in my firefox / internet explorer.
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    PM sent ;)
     
  5. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,207
    Location:
    UK
    Which is why I maintain that Webroot have a duty of care to prospective customers to make it clear on the Prevx website that Prevx 3 is end-of-life software before selling new licenses.

    @PrevxHelp: Resolving this by PMs and manual conversion of mis-sold Prevx licenses on a case-by-case basis doesn't address the fundamental issue this raises. Why can't Webroot just update the Prevx website, as previously suggested, in order to make the situation clear to new customers prior to purchase, most of whom should now be buying WSA instead?
     
  6. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    While I do agree that it should be noted on the website more carefully, I also want to say thanks for helping out and converting the lisence. Legally I am not sure they HAD to do that so that shows a great company spirit.
     
  7. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    The knowing wink tells it all PrevxHelp. I'm assuming you have pulled a few strings for Eystein and he is a happy chappie again. Pity about the poor plebs who are still waiting for that promised upgrade though, how about sending them a PM ?
     
  8. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Eystein "that shows a great company spirit."
    Wrong, leaving many thousands of folk using an inferior product is not a great anything, you were lucky.
     
  9. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Hmm I seem to have stumbled into a very sore subject? I am sorry I did not know this. All I know is legaly they probably where not required to do this and I am glad they do. That was my comment nothing more nothing less.
     
  10. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    As I said you were lucky, what's the weather like in Norway ? :)
     
  11. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Well since I live far up north its actually still snowing...... But thats a good excuse to stay inside updating your antivirus software :)
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,939
    Location:
    North Carolina
    it works, when I installed it just now I could not see the green tab. It was actually on top of the IE9 browser, I minimized the size of the page then clicked it and moved it to where I wanted it.
     
  13. Eystein

    Eystein Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Norway
    Your correct if you minimize the browser, I also see a privx bar. But it does not initilize a scan like I told it to do so still not working correctly, besides not really cool that I have to minimize my iexplorer to see the privx bar. Also my firefox have no privx bar at all so totaly not working with firefox. (and I primarly use firefox.)
     
  14. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,953
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Eystein, haven't they converted license key, so then you should install WSA and insert new keycode? Sorry if I'm wrong.
     
  15. zach

    zach Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Wisconsin,USA
    I'd like to finally get my upgrade.
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I can only get a new license for an exact year license as a replacement. If someone has just purchased a new license, they can then be given a replacement. We're still working on the general upgrades and will have them available as soon as possible. I know it's been dragging on for a long time now but I unfortunately can't offer a more accurate timeline at this point as there are too many interdependencies.
     
  17. Yanick

    Yanick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    269
    I also tried the Prevx 3 SafeOnline for IE 9 and it works very well :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.