Perfect Disk 7

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Ptah, Apr 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ptah

Ptah Registered Member

Greetings FD users, I have just begun trialing FD and would also like to trial PD. What are the correct settings if any that will not harm FD or the Motherboard.

Second questions is PD the only defrager you can safely use w/ FD?

2. Acadia

Acadia Registered Member

I believe, but am not positive, that you can safely use any defragger with FD. As far as PD goes, since they are both made by the same company, they are perfectly compatible with each other, you do not need to use any special settings or exclusions.

Acadia

3. dallen

dallen Registered Member

I am not sure that every defragger is safe with FD. I could be wrong, but I think that I read something in the Wilders forum that indicated that some defraggers can move the FD files in a way that causes problems. I'm not an expert in this area and I'm sure someone that knows will clarify this.

4. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

That is my feeling too and it's logical too, because defraggers MOVE data on a harddisk. ShadowUser's manual has also recommendations for using defraggers.

5. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

6. ErikAlbert

That is why I'm going to separate winXPproSP2 from my personal files (on two physical harddisks).
    That is why my system image backup will be created in a different way, than my system partition.
    That's why my very first snapshot will be based on my system image backup and not on my system partition, the other snapshots aren't that important.

My system partition doesn't need much defragging, my personal partition needs defragging, because that partition changes all the time.

7. Ptah

Ptah Registered Member

So basically it sounds like from reading the above provided link that PD is the best choice and probably the only choice for FD users. Can anyone confirm usage w/ both and if they had any problems?