PCAudit. This is scary!

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by cdysthe, Mar 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cdysthe

cdysthe Registered Member

Hi,

I went to this site: http://www.pcinternetpatrol.com/ and downloaded PCAudit. I ran the application and followed the instructions and was really surprised by what this application was able to get through my firewall, router and anti virus protection without any of them even noticing it was running!

Since I am not an expert on any of this could someone here tell me why all this can be let through? I do understand this much: You need to actually run some kind of software on your machine to have this happen to you. After all, PCAudit is an application. Still, it's remarkable to me that it's allowed to send out all this information without LnS even noticing that it's running!

Try it! It's scary! :)

2. gkweb

gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

If you want more tests, go to my website (in my sig).
    You will notice by testing yourself that every firewall has at least one (even more) leaktest that it doesn't pass, and all leak method could lead to leak exactly same data than PCAudit.

Take a look at the advice page too ;)

3. Kevin_b_er

Kevin_b_er Registered Member

It just shows LnS needs to get its butt in gear on upgradign the DLL monitoring code so it actually sees pcaudit...

4. gkweb

Of course you can read what you want to read, but if you read all, you will notice what i have just stated earlier :)

_None_ of the firewalls pass _all_ leaktests, and LnS is the one which passes most of them as of now.
    So yes you can dislike any firewalls, all have pros & cons, but i don't think you can blame Carl Lewis to not running faster ;)
    To run is just one sport categorie, athletism is more than that as firewalls are more than just outbound application filtering, but don't we all want our security software to be better than they are ? :rolleyes: