Partition Resizing

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by mrduke, Jan 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrduke

mrduke Registered Member

I've been using FD-ISR for quite a few years, and think it is great. I would like to shrink the size of my system (C) drive that has Windows Vista and FD on it to make room for another partition to store just data on. I have both Vista and Win 7 on this drive, and would like to make all the data available to both. Is there anything special that needs to be done to shrink and then create a new partition on this drive for FD to continue working?

Thanks
    Duke

2. Longboard

Longboard Registered Member

Short answer = No.
    :)
    As long as there is no changes to FDISR preboot, should be no problems reallocating some space.

Might be some specific tidying up depending on what your set-up is.
    Be careful preserving old and allocating new drive/partition names/letters.

MAke sure u keep an eye on snapshot sizes and archive destination drive name.

In view of new partition sizes; might need to redo some snapshots and archives after changes to partition sizes.
    Be wary of some defraggers if planning some extra tidying.
    ( cant recall which but some defrag tools have ..erm.. 'misplaced' snapshots)

Keep a fresh system Image j.i.c.

What tool are u thinking of using for Resize/Shrink ?
    I have done similar many times with BING from Terabyte with no real problems.

HTH
    OOI why Vista AND W7 ?
    Regards.

Last edited: Jan 24, 2012
  3. jwcca

jwcca Registered Member

I used W7 'Shrink volume' to downsize my system partition. It took several shrinks to get from 160GB down to 55GB as I wanted to move from an HDD to an SSD.
    I didn't have a second partition, just the c:.