Paragon B&R Free 10.2: options needed for move Win7 new drive

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by cognus, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cognus

cognus Registered Member

Sorry for such a non-succinct title, folks.
    I'm new to this particular forum because blessedly in the past I found Paragon B&R easy to use successfully.
    That was then.
    Now I am the poster child for Epic Fail.

This is a simple move of Windows 7 pro on a small hot [heatwise] drive to a larger capacity laptop drive for a low-power lab mule. All I needed to do was create an exact bootable image of the original drive, put the new drive in on SATA 0 and the old on SATA 1, boot off the old, run Paragon, restore the image to the new drive, reboot, change drive letter, and we're off to the races just like in the past when I had zero issues with this.

This time it could hardly have been more misguided. Something changed in the default options and I've been looking through the current user manual to figure out what I did wrong. I don't know if my Backup was wrong, or the restore, or both. Unfortunately the manual does not give me exact instructions on "how to move to blank/new drive and have it boot". So ..o_O

You guys seem to have the decoder for these excellent products so if you can point me to a link or something that will make this plainer I'd be so overjoyed :D

EDIT: Just to add what I think I am seeing as trying to learn the newer ropes: In the Backup wizard I have some options - quite a few actually, and I think I have those set right but could use a check by one of you.