OS Selector screwed up booting VISTA!!! Pls Help!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by seq2albert, Mar 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seq2albert

    seq2albert Registered Member

    Mar 21, 2007

    I selected OS selector and when it asked to restart, I clicked "Yes".
    Machine reboot and jump right into OS Selector Menu and I tried selecting C: for OS, it doesn't show VISTA. I exit to reboot and it kept going back to Acronis OS Selector menu. I'm stuck now and couldn't boot VISTA at all. Pls help!!! Urgently! I want my VISTA back... :'(
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Nov 3, 2006
    How were you booting Vista before installing OSS?
    Were you dual-booting with XP or is Vista installed as the only OS?
    If XP is also installed, were you using Vista's boot manager to select between XP and Vista?

    What version and build of DD (OSS) are you using?
    The latest build (2,160) will recognize Vista, earlier version won't.

    Try using the OS Detection Wizard. Select to find the OS on a partition. Select the Vista partition. Click the "bootable" button. You may also have to click the "active" button. Then proceed and see if OSS finds it.

    If nothing else works, you should be able to fix it by booting from the Vista dvd.
  3. ledcreigh

    ledcreigh Registered Member

    Mar 17, 2007
    This is the exact same problem that I am having. And yes, I have tried the OS Detection Wizard; it can't find Vista in my C: partition either. And, of course, since OS Selector can't detect Vista in C:, you can't uninstall OS Selector either. Until you fix the MBR with the Vista install DVD, however, you can hit 'F6' when booting. Your window for 'F6' to take is fairly short (about a second), but start hitting the key after the BIOS images/messages finish, but before the OS Selector "window" starts (there are 2-3 lines of OS Selector boot output, one of which states that you should hit 'F6' to skip having OS Selector load).

  4. NeilP

    NeilP Registered Member

    Mar 27, 2007
    Me too !. Vista was pre-installed so don't have a Vista DVD. Tried to get OSS to detect it using the wizard but no good. I'm beginning to wonder why I ever bought the Acronis software. Should have tried another boot manager. Does anyone know how to get rid of OSS ?
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Apr 28, 2004
    Hello seq2albert, ledcreigh and NeilP,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Could you please collect the following information so we could investigate the issue and provide you with a possible solution?

    - Upon booting your system press F6 button (as MudCrab described) to avoid appearing the Acronis OS Selector boot menu.

    This will boot an operation system from the partition that is active, according to Master Boot Record (MBR).

    After you boot into Windows please download Acronis Report utility and create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post. This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    Aleksandr Isakov
  6. bdponydoc

    bdponydoc Registered Member

    Mar 30, 2007
    I just installed the OS selector and had the same problem so it appears several of us are in a pickle. I hope help arrives soon.
  7. MatthewE

    MatthewE Registered Member

    Apr 2, 2007
    I had the same thing happen. I have a Dell with Vista preinstalled. A D: Recovery drive was detected as an operating system, but upon booting it simply brought me to the Dell Recovery system. Restarting brought me back to OS Selector, and so it goes. Deactivating OS Selector gave me the message "Missing BootMgr".

    So, I went into Disk Director from the OS Selector and found that my C: drive had become my D: drive and vice versa. So, I made the D: OS drive active, which changed it backed to C: OS upon rebooting. Then, I deactivated the OS Selector and Vista booted again.

    That's not to say that I'm not bogged down with my own troubles trying to create a primary partition, but that's for another thread. Hope this helps.
  8. Pete Campbell

    Pete Campbell Registered Member

    Apr 4, 2007
    Same problem here on a HP DV6265us standard laptop configuration from HP with pre installed Vista Premium. Had to do an uninstall from the recovery disk to get to OS. DD10 could not discover Vista on my C: drive. I am looking to install XP Pro as a dual boot but can't even see the one I already have installed.
    Pete Campbell
  9. bbarker

    bbarker Registered Member

    May 12, 2007
    thats good news for me(f6,didnt know to hit it that early)) because oss kills my usb keyboard and mouse!!!
    no way to select anything!!
  10. OngL

    OngL Registered Member

    May 1, 2007
    I had the same problem and gave up after wasting time on OSS. I am happily now runs solely under vista... or xp if I need to. Harddisk price has gone down considerably nowadays.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.