opinions of the Belkin Pre-N

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by feverfive, Sep 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. feverfive

feverfive Registered Member

Sorry to hijack this thread (again), but does anyone have opinions of the Belkin Pre-N, model no. F5D8230-4? I'm beginning to change my mind about whether to try wireless--my machine is actually a 17" notebook that I use as a desktop replacement. It has the (unfortunately) crappy Intel wireless card (part of the Centrino package). Anyhow, I am going to give wireless a try, & am wondering if there are any particular caveats to the security aspects of this router? I've read reviews which were all pretty much positive....

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2005
  2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

id stick to a normal 802.11g router until the n specification becomes ratified. i have had no experience with it tho or any other router as a matter of fact.

3. doug6949

doug6949 Registered Member

4. profhsg

profhsg Registered Member

I have both a Belkin pre-N pcmcia card for my notebook and a Belkin pre-n router. I got the notebook card 1st (also as a replacement for my Intel mini pc card that was built into my notebook). I made the switch because I couldn't receive a consistent signal in my office in the basement from the router which was up in my wife's office on the 2nd floor. I found it solved my problem (I always got a very good signal). I have had no trouble with the card. Then I got a Belkin pre-N router. The reason for this is that when I took my computer into our backyard, I had a hard time getting a consistent signal from my 802.11g router. The new pre-N router solved that problem. I have had no problems with it either.

5. feverfive

feverfive Registered Member

Thanks all. @Doug6949: thanks for the link, looks like I'll go w/ Linksys...

6. budfox

budfox Registered Member