NTFS and Wine

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by BoerenkoolMetWorst, Sep 4, 2016.

1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

I've never used Wine before and I'm trying to install an application, but the installer says it requires a NTFS partition. I've done a little searching and it seems it is possible to let installed applications access a NTFS drive/partition, but not to install an application on NTFS or let Wine emulate a NTFS partition. Just to check: Is this correct?

2. NormanF

NormanF Registered Member

Don't bother. Install Windows on a VB in Linux and run your Windows applications there. Much easier than trying to get them to run under WINE.

3. Amanda

Amanda Registered Member

I don't think you need to create a DOS partition. I remember just installing Wine and that's it, Wine will create a few folders and some are called "Drive C", for example, in which programs are usually installed. Wine *should* emulate a DOS partition on that folder.

4. MisterB

MisterB Registered Member

All of my systems multiboot so all my Linux installations see NTFS partitions. Ntfs support is excellent and I've never had an issue in Windows after writing to a NTFS shared partition in Linux.

While Wine itself is native Linux code, any Windows software you run will need to see a file system it can read and write to, whether a real volume on a partition or an emulated one in a folder.

5. Amanda

Amanda Registered Member

Just installed Wine, it's pretty much straight forward and doesn't require any configuration or NTFS partition.

6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

To clarify, I have installed Wine succesfully as well, but the Windows installer I'm trying to install in/through/with Wine complains it needs a NTFS file system.
    Looking in Wine, I don't see an option to emulate a NTFS partition.