Novice user requires help/advice

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by noel1947, Jun 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noel1947

noel1947 Registered Member

Hi

This is my first post and apologize for the length of my query. I should state that I am a novice with regards the complexities regarding rule creation.

Since installing "Look 'n' Stop" I have used the Sygate online security scan and all the results have shown all my ports have been completely stealthed. Great, that is what I assume a firewall's primary function is.

I have just set up a server on my home computer (Pentium 4 2.53 gig WinXp cable modem - no router) using Serv-U program as my FTP server. Everything is tested, runs OK (password protected as only 1 person in Japan will have access). Fine so far.

I followed the Look 'n' Stop Rule example : Authorizing an FTP Server from the FAQ section of the homepage and the rule was created. Looks Ok.

I then retested Sygate online security scan and the following results are now:

FTP DATA 20 CLOSED This port has responded to our probes. This means that you are not running any application on this port, but it is still possible for someone to crash your computer through known TCP/IP stack vulnerabilities.
    FTP 21 OPEN File Transfer Protocol is used to transfer files between computers. A misconfigured FTP server can allow an attacker to transfer files, Trojan horses, and virus programs at will.
    SSH 22 CLOSED This port has responded to our probes. This means that you are not running any application on this port, but it is still possible for someone to crash your computer through known TCP/IP stack vulnerabilities.
    TELNET 23 CLOSED This port has responded to our probes. This means that you are not running any application on this port, but it is still possible for someone to crash your computer through known TCP/IP stack vulnerabilities.