Norton 2011

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Anth-Unit, Mar 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Anyone else getting "failed to complete" on the latest x64 definitions? I remember a problem with live update a week or so ago, and I'm wondering if this is just me.
     
  2. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Canada
    The live update works fine here on vista X64. I just manually updated a moment ago.
     
  3. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Plenty of people on the Norton Community forum are experiencing it too.
     
  4. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Can I get a link to the thread please?
     
  5. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Canada
  6. Anth-Unit

    Anth-Unit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
  7. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Canada
    I have NIS installed on two machines (vista x64 and win7 x32) but I haven't encountered any problems with updates. Apparently not all norton users are affected by this. I hope norton will sort this out asap.
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,149
    No problem here.
    Jerry
     
  9. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    i think they fix it yesterday , from yesterday until now the update ok , try to update ur norton today and see its will complete or not
    good luck
     
  10. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Everything is working gr8 here :thumb:
     
  11. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    the problem of update come back again today i dont know they will fix it or no ??
     

    Attached Files:

    • nnn.jpg
      nnn.jpg
      File size:
      28.3 KB
      Views:
      853
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    If the problem is at their end, of course they will fix it as soon as they can.
     
  13. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    untile now the problem not fix
    same problem the update not good and not complete
     
  14. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Sounds more like a problem on your end then. :( Seems on the forum that it has been fixed.
     
  15. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411

    same problem today 23 march 2011

    i think i will go back to avast free
     
  16. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    I had to give it up for this reason. very annoying:mad:
     
  17. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Did u try reinstalling the product?
     
  18. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    we have 6 computers in the home
    2 for me
    2 for my brother
    1 for my sister
    1 for my father and mother

    so i think the problem from norton not from the computers
    coz i dont think 6 laptops bad !!!!

    also my friends have same problem
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    yep..dont know whats going on.. no improvement:mad:
     
  20. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thats a wird problem - hope they have af fix ready soon :rolleyes: The 8 machines i manage with NIS dont have that problem :)
     
  21. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,149
    Sorry for your problem. I just turned on my computer and having read this again I did a manual update. It took just a few seconds to install the 6 updates.
    Norton 2011 IS updates automatically and several times each day. No problem here.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  22. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    today 26 mach 2011 and the problem same
    i will say bye bye norton im waiting too much and nothing happen and the same problem , i will change it to avast antivirus free beta today
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.