nod32 vs bit defender

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by veez, Jun 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. veez

veez Registered Member

According to an anti virus review site, ~ Link removed. Rogue site~ Ron

Nod32 does not have "P2P/file sharing protection" whereas Bit Defender does,

Also Bit Defender has "Registry Startup Protection" whereas Nod32 doesnt,

I am new to both programs and need some kindly advice from those who have used both programs

Please reply , thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2006
  2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

NOD32 doesn't have separate P2P/file sharing protection but it has AMON - the antivirus monitor , which scans all files on create , on access and on execute , in other words - everything possible .

NOD32 is extremely fast and reliable so it will kill the malware before it touches the registry

More info about NOD32 :
    www.eset.com

3. Firecat

Firecat Registered Member

I have licenses for both NOD32 and BitDefender. Both are quite good AVs.

- NOD32 has IMON but BitDefender does not have a substitute
    - BitDefender allows you to select separate actions for signature detections and heuristic detections, something I really appreciate.
    - NOD32's heuristics are better than BitDefender's, though BD's B-HAVE heuristics engine is not bad.
    - BitDefender costs less than NOD32
    - Both are light on my system, though NOD32 is lighter.
    - BitDefender's updates are bigger than NOD32, and BitDefender updates hourly
    - BitDefender is generally incompatible with third-party Anti-Spyware, Anti-Trojan software.
    - BitDefender has registry protection, which is useful for detecting new/undetected malware. But NOD32 does not yet have such a thing.

So based on that, I would say both are good products, though I'd give NOD32 the edge for general users. More advanced users can use any one - both are excellent products. :)

4. ASpace

ASpace Guest