NOD32 and Arcserve 11 for windows

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by smoke455, Aug 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smoke455

smoke455 Registered Member

I have a Win2k box running Arcserve 11. After installing ENOD none of the services that arcserve relies upon can start and all the backups fail. I tried disabling all the modules in the NOD32 Control Center, but the only fix was to disable the NOD32 Kernel service.

Has anyone enountered this before? Is there a setting I can change in NOD to avoid the conflict with Arcserves services?

2. NOD32 user

NOD32 user Registered Member

Hi smoke455,
    Haven't used Arcserve 11, but when you say disabled all modules in the NOD32 Control Center do you mean that the icons were actually grey (not red) and then a reboot?

Cheers :)

3. smoke455

AMON was red, the rest were gray - after a reboot all the NOD32 services turn back on unless I disable the kernal service before the reboot.

I'm new to NOD32, just switched the company to it from eTrust - this has been the only glitch in the rollout so far.

4. NOD32 user

NOD32 user Registered Member

Basically to disable modules you need to clear the 'enabled' checkbox then use the 'Quit' button for each module. These settings should stick after reboot.
    AMON is a little different - in adddition to what is required for the other modules you would also need to clear the 'Enable automatic startup of AMON' checkbox which can be found at Control Center --> AMON --> Setup --> Security tab.
    I am not recomending that you disable NOD32 since it can not offer protection when it is disabled. The above is just an answer to your question :D

I did notice that this Arcserve page mentions it has integrated antivirus, so I'm downloading a trial version to see what goes on with that.