NIS 2009 "Norton Toolbar" in IE browser

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Birdman, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    569
    With the latest NIS 16.5.0.135 update, I can no longer remove the Norton Toolbar from displaying in IE browser w/o getting a message that 2 additional Symantec "add-ons" will also be disabled as a result (see image).

    Is it SAFE to disable the Norton Toolbar + those extra add-ons or is the Symantec Intrusion Prevention and the Syamantec NCO BHO need to be enabled for safety?

    To disable the Norton Toolbar or NOT....that's the question.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,448
    Location:
    USA
    Can't you just right click on the toolbar and "uncheck" it so it doesn't display? If you do that the protection functionality will still be enabled.
     
  3. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    569
    That box pops up regardless.
     
  4. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,962
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Strange... I right click on the toolbar and you either check or uncheck to display the Norton Toolbar, simple as that, no dialog box. WinXP SP3 & IE7. I can't figure out how to get that dialog. With Norton Toolbar on, it has a drop down options menu itself where I can elect to "Enable Norton Safe Web", "Show Search Box", etc.
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Netherlands
    IE7 doesn't have that dialog, but IE8 has.
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    has IE8 been released as final yet, this is a bit off topic but im curious, or is it still in beta/RC?
     
  7. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Well have you completed trying to disable the Norton Toolbar? Does it really disable those components?

    It's nice to have those protection moudles there, however they are not 100% nessacery.
     
  8. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,962
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Yes, but see thread here: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=236548
    Not ready for me to try it yet based on what I read there.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    if you dont want the pop up check dont show me this again and then hide the toolbar.

    imo the new version is def slower than the old one and is using a bit more ram. not a lot more but maybe an extra 1-2mb overall at idle and it def slowed browsing a little bit more though very slightly
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  11. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,962
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    No doubt, but not clear to me when. Hopefully not immediately.
     
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thx.
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,448
    Location:
    USA
    I believe you're getting that message because you are disabling the toolbar in:

    "Internet Options/Programs/Manage Add-ons/toolbars & extentions"

    Close Internet Options, right click on the toolbar itself and uncheck it. Then it will be hidden without being disabled.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,072
    I heard it would happen sometime in April, but don't know for sure. I was a little gun shy, but finally installed it here on Vista x64, so far looks great, no issues at all.
     
  15. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no in ie8 it says it will disable the add ons themselves not just hide the toolbar.

    just disable them and go back into nortons then turn back on antiphising then it will be active minus the tool bar.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,448
    Location:
    USA
    OK, I tried it in IE8 and you're correct about the pop-up. It does not happen in IE7 though. Just goes to show that it's important for people to say what versions of software they're using.
     
  17. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    Listening to Paul Thurrott, it is not currently available via Windows Update, however is available for public download at www.microsoft.com/ie8.

    As far as "Intrusion Prevention" does, it blocks attackers from exploiting vulnerabilities in Internet Explorer and some third-party applications.

    Today, Norton blocked the download of a PDF file, citing it was a suspicious PDF file. I was blocked access to the site which attempted to save the file. When I disabled Intrusion Prevention and downloaded the file, the antivirus component erased the file; it matched the signature for Bloodhound.Exploit.196.

    When submitted to various sites for analysis, a population of AVs detected the file as malicious. The IP BHO simply steps in before the antivirus component.

    IE8 support is not official yet. Users have experienced incompatibilities. http://community.norton.com/norton/board/message?board.id=Norton_360&message.id=4686&query.id=318780#M4686
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.