Newbie questions

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Mele20, Jan 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mele20

Mele20 Former Poster

I am new to Process Guard. Trying the free version first but will probably buy the full version. I have a few questions. I've had PG running about 10 days now.

On the Main window, under protection statistics it states it has protected me from two attacks. How do I find more details?

Second, in the logs I keep finding this entry:
    Tue 11 - 12:43:21 [EXECUTION] "c:\program files\ff\firefox.exe" was allowed to run
    [EXECUTION] Started by "c:\windows\explorer.exe" [1292]
    [EXECUTION] Commandline - [ "c:\program files\ff\firefox.exe" ]
    Tue 11 - 12:43:23 [EXECUTION] "c:\program files\ff\firefox.exe" was allowed to run
    [EXECUTION] Started by "Unknown Process" [1272]
    [EXECUTION] Commandline - [ c:\progra~1\ff\firefox.exe ]

Why does it say that Firefox was started by an "unknown process"? Also, what do the numbers mean like [1272]?

What might cause ProcessGuard to freeze in the systray upon reboot after removing Microsoft's antispyware beta application?

Thanks. :)

2. nick s

nick s Registered Member

Hi Mele20,

You will have to review the log files. Click "View Logfiles" in the Alerts tab.
    The bracketed numbers are process IDs. The same as would identify processes in Task Manager. I have similar entries for certain apps I use. Since they occur randomly (with everything else unchanged), I would assume it to be a PG bug:

19:21:37 [EXECUTION] "c:\program files\greatis\regrunsuite\watchdog.exe" was allowed to run
    [EXECUTION] Started by "Unknown Process" [636]
    [EXECUTION] Commandline - [ "c:\progra~1\greatis\regrun~1\watchdog.exe" ]
    19:22:00 [EXECUTION] "c:\program files\greatis\regrunsuite\watchdog.exe" was allowed to run
    [EXECUTION] Started by "c:\progra~1\greatis\regrun~1\regrun2.exe" [1844]
    [EXECUTION] Commandline - [ "c:\progra~1\greatis\regrun~1\watchdog.exe" ]