Newbie here, old hard drive to new hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by brianct, Oct 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brianct

brianct Registered Member

I have a new Dell computer arriving today. I am going to pop my current hard drive in the new computer but as a slave. I would clone the old drive to the new drive, but there are some programs coming on the new system that I want to keep. Can someone please explain how I can get my old hard drive data/programs etc over to the new one. I was just trying this out with a D drive I have in my old system. I backed it up and I tried to recover it to the C drive, only to be told "Cannot restore partition because the image file is on the same partion you are going to restore". I would really appreciate anyone's insight, I am sure this isnt as hard as I am making it out to be.

2. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

In a situation like yours, it will be better to reinstall the programs on the new Dell. The data that you already have from those programs can just be copied with Windows Explorer to the new drive in whatever location you desire. A few reasons for doing this: Since it is new hardware, trying to use True Image to Restore the image of the old drive to the new Dell drive involves jumping through a few hoops. Also the Registry in your old drive probably has accummulated a lot of unnecessary items over time. Starting off with the new Dell will avoid this.
    But on that new Dell, you would probably want to remove all the Trialware, crapware, and other bloatware that all new systems have on them. After you do this, make a backup Image of it so that you can Restore it to this state if you have to. Remember the Dell Recovery CDs will put back all the Bloatware items you just took off. After you make this first Image with TI, install all your programs and data then make another Image.