New Zone Alarm Pro. Beta.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by swisscoms, Feb 10, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    I was wondering if anyone has had a chance to test the new Zone Alarm Pro Beta yet? I have run it through some paces, and seems to perform very well. I have noticed though that it uses a lot of RAM. I dropped from 92% to 79%. Any thoughts anyone? Peter.
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi swisscoms,

    We haven't for sure; in general, we start testing when software has been officially released - no Beta's.

    Looking forward to impressions from others, though   ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. Arne

    Arne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have not even considered the idea. I have been trying to find a bottle-neck for a long time here. My internet speed has been drastically low for a long time. The last thing I checked was ZAP, which I did not even suspect would be the reason.

    When I uninstalled it my speed (both up and down) improved from 3,5 Mbits to what it should be = 9,8 Mbits on my 10 Mbits connection.

    I believe this was my final good bye to ZA.

    Regards
    Arne.

    PS. Congratualtions with this new forum. It seems to work fine and I even love the colors!!
     
  4. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    Welcome aboard my friend Arne.  Amazing, it is like we're all a community of users who frequent the same places.  :D
     
  5. Arne

    Arne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi ZX :)

    Yup, I guess we all have the same interests and hobbies. Nice to see you here too!
     
  6. GAJ

    GAJ Guest

    I tried the demo and it  limits what settings you can adjust. Don't care for it and removed it. Trying out Kerio personal firewall and like it so far.
    I am registered as GA, but when I try to post, I get the message that there is another member with that name. Are my privacy settings too high?
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    GA,

    There is no other member registered with that name; just you.

    Could well be; try lower them for this site, and give it another try.

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    What Browser are you using?
     
  9. GAJ

    GAJ Guest

    I am using IE6, and I have it set to always allow cookies from your site. If I log in and click on a member link, I get a message that I need to be a registered member to use the services.
     
  10. GA

    GA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    35
    If I override cookie handling, I can use your forum.
     GA :-*
     
  11. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ohio
    GA, check the new announcement post. Let me know if that solves this problem.  Thanks
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    GA....when I added http://www.security-pro.co.uk as a Trusted Site(Domain where the Forums are)....I no longer had those issues you mentioned !
     
  13. GA

    GA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    35
    Yeah; puttng in the other domain solved my problem. Thanks.   GA
     
  14. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Could someone please re-post the link to the beta download?  Thanks.
     
  15. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Here is the original posting from the old board:

    [hr]

    Announcing the first public beta of ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0!

    We are proud to invite you to beta test our newest
    version of ZoneAlarm Pro® 3.0.

    Features include:
    *Security that's tighter than ever
    *Component protection to prevent abuse of trusted programs
    *An all-new interface designed for new and expert users alike
    *Privacy protection including cookie control, ad blocking and
    mobile code control
    *Professional logging
    *All new alert More Info with IP address mapping
    *Enhanced automatic network detection with unique wireless
    network identity
    *Expanded information and control
    *User-controlled interface color schemes
    *Much, much more!

    The majority of you have been asked to participate in
    this first official beta of ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 because you've been hard-working, faithful and dedicated beta testers in the past. The remaining testers are new to this beta group. We welcome all of you, and we thank you in advance for the time and effort you will be putting into this beta test. Your work ensures that ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 upholds and exceeds Zone Labs' standards for leading security, ease-of-use and
    effectiveness.

    Where to go to test:

    You will find the ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 beta download and
    comprehensive testing information at the following Web site:
           
    http://www.zonelabs.com/products/zap/zapro3beta_download.html

    Note: On the Web site above, you will find an important
    link for the new submission Web form.
     
  16. Jazzie

    Jazzie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Germany
    I have been Beta testing ZAP 3.0 Beta for the last week and must say, Zone Labs have improved a lot in the area of local/internet server blocking...The cookie/addblocking is also an improvement.. The implementation of 'mobile code control' is a good idea.. But on the ´flip side, it has quite a few bugs right now. I guess that's why it is in the Beta stage... It passes all the leak tests and PCFlanks Steath Test......

    CU
    Jazzie
     
  17. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hey Jazzie,

    Welcome!
    Nice to see you over here!  :)
     
  18. Jazzie

    Jazzie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Germany
    HI Jan!

    Thx, glad to be here... Nice forum, I like the layout! :D

    CU
    Jazzie
     
  19. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    Jazzie I thought you were a die hard sygate fan? You a turncout? lol, j/k nice to see ya out and about.
     
  20. Jazzie

    Jazzie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Germany
    Hi Allan!

    Yeah, I like to test everything and anything that comes along... It seems that most all FW's have faults/improvements, one way or another! If I had to choose one now it would be most likely LNS, but it doesn't yet have the ability to assign apps and only those apps rights to certaint port usage... It is still a very powerfull fw... I hope the above will be implemented in a future release.... If this does happen, I will hang up Sygate! ;)

    CU
    Jazzie
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. lunarlander
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    621
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.