New PC Advice

Discussion in 'hardware' started by n8chavez, Oct 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

I'm looking to have a custom PC built for me very soon. I'm intending to have this new system be a gaming system. There are a couple of things I really need help with, like liquid cooling, RAM, and the always-debatable Intel versus AMD.

I have never used liquid cooling before, but feel like it'd be a good option for me because it gets very hot I live and sometime are flow can be a real issue. After looking at newegg and a bunch of reviews, the Corsair H80 Cooling Hydro seemed to stand out to me. But I am still unclear on a few things about liquid cooling in general; does it only cool the processor, or the whole case, will I need extra case fans and/or HD fans?

I am kinda on a budget, so I can't just get the best of everything as though money were no object. I've read in a few places that there's really no need for anything about 8gb DDR3 RAM, unless you are doing video editing. Is that true? Is there no practical reason to get 16gb DD3 RAM?

I am also debating the processor which would best balance cost and effect. I have it narrowed down to two processors, the intel i5 Sandy Bridge and the AMD Phenom II 956 X4 (or the 6-core x6). Which do you think is the best processor for an mid-level-gamer on a budget? From what I've read the i5 preforms very similar to the x6, but the x6 is cheaper. Would there be any real. noticeable, difference between the i5, x4, or x6 on a system with a ATI Radeon HD 6850?

Thanks in advance.

n8

2. TheKid7

TheKid7 Registered Member

3. TheKid7

How much CPU performance boost will water cooling give over stock heatsink/fan cooling?

You may be better off spending the 'water cooling' money on a faster CPU. I am not sure which is the better way to go.

IMHO, I would keep things simple and not use water cooling.

I would never spend more than US$200 for a "gaming" video card.