new avastPro! user inquiries..etc

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Dundertaker, Nov 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dundertaker

Dundertaker Registered Member

Just started using avastPro! in my Windows 7 x86 pc and I saw a "process virtualization". I understand that it is a "sandbox" but I would like to ask you gurus about it's difference to SBIE paid, say, in:

a) sandboxing browsers
    b) running applications

Can you run a browser and an application say, Notepad++ at the same time in "process virtualization"? Is this like SBIE with it's own sandbox to a browser or program?

Pardon for the questions. I'm really new to avast ver5. Cannot remember how I set it up last 2007(free version 4.XX)...

Also, would like to ask for settings that you guys have for it to let it play nicely with Prevx/OP Pro/Malwarebytes if you have used all or one in combination with Avast Pro...

Is there anything I can set in Web Shield or do something...I noticed a slight slowdown during browsing(with default settings)...maybe a tip or two...

I hear that the default settings are good enough (now on default). If I have the need to add a little punch to the settings what maybe possible adjustments to do?

How can I save my configuration settings and launch it again when the need arises?

About a custom install, currently I have installed all components but when I feel the need to uninstall a component say, Mail Shield, how can I do that? What happens to the settings I made?

I tried Control Panel>Uninstall/Change but it was asking to connect to the internet.....did not encounter this when I was with Antivir...

Please bear with me as I do really need to understand the program and not just leave it and let it be. I don't do that. I need to understand it better in order to like it the reason I ask a lot of questions/ideas/help.

Thank you very much and regards to all!:)

2. DVD+R

DVD+R Registered Member