Need to Manually Uninstall OS Selector

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Duncan Blair, Oct 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duncan Blair

    Duncan Blair Registered Member

    Oct 3, 2007
    Hi all - I know this is a problem of my own making.

    Last night I made a clean install of WinXP Pro on a sole HD in my computer. That drive is now my C drive and boots into the new installation of Windows, which is what I wanted.

    This morning I added two more hard disks (one as a slave to C and the other as a slave to the CD drive). One of those disks has two previous installations of WinXP in two separate partions of the disk (don't ask me why - it seemed to make sense at the time). That disk has OS Selector installed and activated on it. Oh . . . . After installing the disks in the computer, I booted up and converted the previously bootable partitions to logical partitions.

    When I tried this morning to install Disk Director Suite 10.0 on my clean C drive WinXP installation, the installation program asks what I want to do with the OS Selector installed on one of the slave disks. My options according to the setup program? I can deactive or uninstall OS Selector, but in both cases, the list of operating systems from which I must choose to boot DOES NOT include the clean WinXP setup that I installed on my C disk last night.

    The only entry in my current registry to OS Selector is that I aborted the setup program.

    Is there not some way to manually remove any trace of OS Selector from the slave disks? For example, I could move all of the root system files and rename the Windows directories on the slave disk. Would that not work?

    TIA for any help.

  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Nov 3, 2006

    If your clean install of Windows is still the current Windows and it's booting properly, then you should be able to remove OSS by deleting all the bootwiz folders on every drive. This will be a "hidden" folder on the drive OSS was installed to so you may have to enable viewing of hidden files & folders to delete it. Once those folders are deleted, DD shouldn't detect the installation of OSS and should ask what you want to do.

    If you don't care about saving any of the data on either of the other two drives, you could just reformat them. That would erase the bootwiz info along with everything else.

    Another option would be to turn off the computer, disconnect the other two drives, startup the computer, install DD into your clean XP system, shutdown and then reconnect the drives. That way DD can't even see them during the installation. (If you don't want to physically disconnect them, some BIOS's have the option to "turn off" a drive so it won't be detected.)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.